OER for Business: Business Starting Points

OER course on Lumen Learning platform, based on Saylor's Operations Managements course. Designed for upper-level business students. Organized into 9 main units, with activities and assessment rubrics. Online format. Course overall has CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

OER course developed and shared by Saylor Academy. Organized into 9 units, with study guides. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

Collection of peer-reviewed chapters/essays, published by InTechOpen, 2018. "This book highlights some critical aspects and advances in the field of operations management. Topics covered include investigations in the area of sustainable supply chain management; the application of OM principles to the deployment of field laboratories to address epidemics; and novel approaches to applying operations management in response to increasingly diverse requirements, circumstances, and performance criteria." Not openly licensed, but open access, which means freely available to link to. Site also encourages and provides downloadable PDFs of each chapter/essay.

Course materials published by MIT Open Courseware, 2013. The course uses some copyrighted textbooks, but included in this course are case studies and readings, assignments, case preparation questions, and simulation exercises. Online format, plus downloadable file for course materials. The ancillary materials are openly licensed with a CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.

An interactive quiz created by Wisconsin's Technical Collages, 2015, to help learners identify the different types of data and terms associated with Statistical Process Control (SPC). Downloadable, text-based alternative version option available. CC BY NC (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial) license.

OpenStax textbook, 2020, "intended for use in introductory Entrepreneurship classes at the undergraduate level. Due to the wide range of audiences and course approaches, the book is designed to be as flexible as possible. Theoretical and practical aspects are presented in a balanced manner, and specific components such as the business plan are provided in multiple formats. Entrepreneurship aims to drive students toward active participation in entrepreneurial roles, and exposes them to a wide range of companies and scenarios." Online and PDF formats. Instructor resources, including a Canvas course cartridge, available upon a free, verified log-in. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

Univ. of Saskatchewan, 2017. This textbook is designed for upper year undergraduate students studying fundamental entrepreneurship concepts. Organized into 10 chapters, including Business Models, Business Planning, and Strategic Entrepreneurship. Available in PDF digital and print formats. Peer reviews of the text available on this site. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license.

Updated in 2019. This is a modular open textbook designed for entrepreneurial journalism, media innovation, and related courses. Includes business-related chapters, like "Developing the Entrepreneurial Mindset," "Customer Discovery," and "Business Models for Content & Technology Ventures." Integrates "from the field" case studies and exercises. PDF, online, EPUB, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

Commonwealth of Learning, 2011. "It is a course that mixes theory with practice. Learners will be challenged to apply the principles, concepts and framework to real world situations." PDF version of textbook, which integrates assessments and activities. Global focus. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license.

Saylor, 2011. This book is suited for an Entrepreneurship or Innovation course with an emphasis on Sustainability. Organized into 8 chapters, and each chapter includes key takeaways and exercises. PDF and online formats. Peer reviews of the text available on this site. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.

Module handouts developed in 2017 from The E-Learning Network (TELNET) "examines how entrepreneurs can surmount obstacles and also examines how business ideas can be developed and habits an entrepreneur must adopt to be a success." Practical topics like "Overcoming the fear or starting a business" and "10 rules of success for entrepreneurs." Click on "View resource" to view or download the PDF handouts. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

Created by Commonwealth of Learning, 2016. This course is intended for people who aspire to know all about how to think smart, get logical, improve decision making skills and use social networking efficiently. Downloadable Word document for the textbook with integrated assessments and discussions, as well as link to YouTube video channel of short video lectures. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

"This module will explore the various uses of social media in staff recruitment and provide some best practice HR advice for its utilisation.Completion of this short module will enable you to integrate social media into your recruitment practices with a better understanding of its benefits and pitfalls." Created Dec. 2018. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

Tip: Log into your Canvas faculty account *before* clicking on this link! OER Canvas course shared by TCC faculty member John Inman, 2020. Uses Adrienne Watt's Project Management OER textbook, linked below. Organized into weekly modules, with readings, audio files, quizzes, and assignments. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

Univ. of Minnesota Libraries, 2016. "In a world that is becoming more virtual, more global, and more complex, the project manager's ability to function in this environment becomes critical to the success of the project. Project Management from Simple to Complex explores project management within this complex, virtual, and global environment." Organized into 12 chapters, each with exercises. Multiple formats available, including digital and print PDF, EPUB, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.

Adrienne Watt, BCcampus Open Textbook Project, 2014. "This book covers the basics of project management. This includes the process of initiation, planning, execution, control and close out that all projects share." Organized into 19 chapters + 3 appendices that includes PowerPoints, chapter questions, and audio files. Multiple formats available, including online, digital and print PDF, and editable OpenDocument formats. Peer reviews of this text available on this site. CC BY (Attribution) license

Saylor course that "walk you through the nuts and bolts of project management. From understanding the project life cycle to setting priorities and expectations to controlling expenses and reporting results, project management touches several resources within organizations. You will examine roles and environments and various techniques of planning, evaluation, and control. An overview of the tools used in contemporary project management will also be discussed throughout the course." TIP: Go to the "Resources" link in the menu for a shortcut to all the different resources and files this course uses. Course has overall CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license, but specific resources used may have different licenses.

Openly licensed textbook, updated 2019. (Note: Hosted on OpenStax CNX site but not created by OpenStax.) Organized into 21 chapters; final chapter includes subject matter experts in different fields. Online, PDF, and ZIP file formats available. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

Adrienne Watt, BCcampus Open Textbook Project, 2014. "This book covers the basics of project management. This includes the process of initiation, planning, execution, control and close out that all projects share." Organized into 19 chapters + 3 appendices that includes PowerPoints, chapter questions, and audio files. Multiple formats available, including online, digital and print PDF, and editable OpenDocument formats. Peer reviews of this text available on this site. CC BY (Attribution) license

Developed by Matt H. Evans. Scroll down to #17, "Managing Projects," which has links to a PDF version of the text, Primer, and Workbook. PDF text has review questions and glossary. More basic and practical look at project management, and the Workbook is an Excel file. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.

MS Project Tutorials. "With these tutorials you will learn the basics of how to plan a project using Microsoft Project." Not openly licensed, but you can link to these tutorials.

Potentially useful as supplementary glossary of related terms for project management. Could copy-and-paste terms into Canvas or into a handout. All Wikipedia content has a CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license.

OpenStax textbook, published Fall 2018, "designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the single-semester business ethics course. This title includes innovative features designed to enhance student learning, including case studies, application scenarios, and links to video interviews with executives, all of which help instill in students a sense of ethical awareness and responsibility." Online and PDF formats available. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

OER textbook published by Open SUNY, 2016. "This textbook provides an innovative, internationally oriented approach to the teaching of corporate social responsibility (CSR) and business ethics. Drawing on case studies involving companies and countries around the world, the textbook explores the social, ethical, and business dynamics underlying CSR in such areas as global warming, genetically modified organisms (GMO) in food production, free trade and fair trade, anti-sweatshop and living-wage movements, organic foods and textiles, ethical marketing practices and codes, corporate speech and lobbying, and social enterprise. The book is designed to encourage students and instructors to challenge their own assumptions and prejudices by stimulating a class debate based on each case study." Organized into 12 chapters. Online, PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.

Instructor resources for this OpenStax textbook are freely available upon verified log-in. Resources currently include PowerPoint slides and test bank. Includes link to OER Commons Hub where faculty using this textbook share additional resources.

Tip: Log into your Canvas faculty account *before* clicking on this link! OER Canvas course shared by SBCTC, 2020. Includes modules, assignments, quizzes, and discussions. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

Published by OpenStax, 2019. "[A] brief introductory textbook designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of courses on Business Law or the Legal Environment of Business. The concepts are presented in a streamlined manner, and cover the key concepts necessary to establish a strong foundation in the subject. The textbook follows a traditional approach to the study of business law. Each chapter contains learning objectives, explanatory narrative and concepts, references for further reading, and end-of-chapter questions." Online or PDF format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.

OER textbook by Melissa Randall and Community College of Denver Students, 2020, written "in collaboration with lawyers and business professionals for use in required 200 level business law courses in the United States. This book is a introductory survey of the legal topics required in undergraduate business law classes." Organized into 24 chapters. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

Includes lots of readings. Quiz banks available for instructors upon request. Organized into 7 main modules: Critical Thinking and Decision Making in Business, Basics in American Law, Basics of Business Law, Special Topics in Business Law, Basic Legal Concepts, Legal Issues in Business, Decisions in Business Ethics. Each page is individually CC-licensed, depending on the resources used on that page.

Washington SBCTC course, based on Saylor Academy’s “Foundations of Business Law and the Legal Environment” CC-licensed text. Organized into 11 modules in a Google Drive folder. Includes additional instructor notes for each chapter, assignments, quizzes, etc. Created in 2013, but most modules updated as recently as 2017. CC BY 3.0 (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

Saylor Academy, 2012. 32 chapters. PDF and online formats available (can link to specific chapters). Peer reviews available. Used at Tillamook Bay Community College in Oregon. CC BY NC SA 3.0 (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - Share Alike) license.

Bookboon, 2012. Slim volume, 79 pages with 7 main chapters: Corporate structure, corporate management, corporate responsibilities, the business plan, raising funds, labour matters, and international trade. Open access book requires free account log-in (free-to-use and download but NOT openly licensed). Free download version includes ads embedded in the textbook (trade-off for the free textbook).

Lumen Learning course where "students learn how to effectively communicate in business, with an emphasis on the use of these skills as a manager. The course introduces important elements of successful communication, providing examples of effective communication and providing students opportunities to practice the same.” Online format, but PDF version of the course is available upon request via a form on the “Faculty Resources” page. Organized into 15 modules, each with a “Why It Matters” introduction and “Putting It Together” summary. Course is geared toward business students. Course has overall CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license, but some pages may have different or additional licenses.

Univ. of Minnesota Libraries, 2015. “[P]rovides a comprehensive, integrated approach to the study and application of written and oral business communication to serve both student and professor.” Organized into 19 chapters, from Ch. 1 Effective Business Communication to Ch. 19 Group Communication, Teamwork, and Leadership. Multiple formats available, including online, digital PDF, and print PDF. Peer reviews of this text available on this site. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license

Brigham Young University, 2017. “Communication is the heart of business. Short emails, complex reports, private chats, impassioned pitches, formal presentations, and team meetings move information and ideas around an organization, define strategy, and drive decisions. Business communication is concise, direct, clear, and compelling.” PDF with lots of integrated sources (Google Docs, websites, videos). Available as full textbook PDF, but if you click the chapters on the Contents page, you go into individual chapter PDFs. Organized into 14 chapters. Peer reviews of this text available on this site. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license.

Kwantlen Polytechnic University (Canada), updated 2019. "This book covers key business communications topics that will help you in your career, including intercultural communication, team work, professional writing, audience analysis and adapting messages, document formatting, oral communication, and more.” Organized into 8 main parts, with sub-sections. Multiple formats, including web, EPUB, Digital PDF, Print PDF, and editable formats OpenDocument (compatible with Word) and Common Cartridge. CC BY NC SA 4.0 (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.

Granite State College textbook. “Demonstrate an understanding of key topics and concepts, including communication networks, media management, organizational culture and climate, intercultural communication, meetings management, ethical communication, assessing communication quality, and crisis communication – and the impact of social technologies.” 14 chapters + appendix. Multiple formats available, including online, EPUB, Digital PDF, Print PDF, and MOBI. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license.

Saylor course "will not tell you what to say during your business communications or when to say it. Instead, you will learn how to plan, produce, and perform acts of communication that satisfy the most demanding audience: your customers." Organized into 6 units. TIP: Click on the "Resources" menu link for a shortcut to all the files and links to resources used in the course. Course has overall CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license, but sources used may have different licenses.

“A series of modules intended for use in Higher Education courses or by independent learners… the resource will be useful for instructors whose courses cover introductory communication skills, workplace communication, technical communication or business writing. It contains four modules, each with its own lesson plans, assets, assessments and supporting materials.” Four modules: Foundations, Writing, Presentation, and Interpersonal. Note: Developed by instructors in Canada. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

The Cain Project in Engineering and Professional Communication, created 2008, updated 2019. “This module offers a version of the Harvard Negotiating Process suitable for conducting village meetings and intercultural discussions about engineering projects in student outreach programs such as Engineers without Borders.” Online format. Useful as an additional reading or in-class activity? Module integrates an assignment that is based on a case study. Product of an open pedagogy project; students contributed to readings, the assignment, and wrote personal commentaries. Written by engineering students and does reference engineering, but this could be edited. CC BY 2.0 (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

Saylor course "designed to teach you about the customer service work environment, methods for successful customer relations, and career advancement tactics." Organized into 5 units. TIP: Click on the "Resources" menu link for a shortcut to the files and link to resources used in the course. Course has overall CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license, but sources used may have different licenses.

Saylor course "will not tell you what to say during your business communications or when to say it. Instead, you will learn how to plan, produce, and perform acts of communication that satisfy the most demanding audience: your customers." Organized into 6 units. TIP: Click on the "Resources" menu link for a shortcut to all the files and links to resources used in the course. Course has overall CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license, but sources used may have different licenses.

Lumen Learning course, newly revised. "This Introduction to Business course develops students’ understanding of business fundamentals with learning design structured around timely, real-world case studies and examples. Key topics include the role of business, the global economic and legal environment, ethics, marketing, accounting and finance, and managing processes and operations. Enriched OER content (text, video, simulations, etc.) orients students to the shifting business landscape and prepares them for success in business program curriculum and the workplace." Organized into 17 modules, each with a "Why It Matters" intro and "Putting It Together" summaries with discussions and assignments. Faculty resources include a PDF format and PowerPoints. Course has overall CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license, but individual pages may have different or additional licenses.

OpenStax textbook, published in Fall 2018, "covers the scope and sequence of most introductory business courses. The book provides detailed explanations in the context of core themes such as customer satisfaction, ethics, entrepreneurship, global business, and managing change. Introduction to Business includes hundreds of current business examples from a range of industries and geographic locations, which feature a variety of individuals." Online and PDF formats available. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

Saylor course, updated in 2016. "This course will expose you to business terminology, concepts, and current business practices. We will help you establish a viable business vocabulary, foster critical and analytical thinking, and refine your business decision-making skills. You will acquire these skills by the reading materials, exercises, and research assignments that simulate today's workplace. By delving into the five units of this course, you will fine tune your direction and choice of career in business." TIP: Click on the "Resources" tab in the course menu for a shortcut to the files and links to resources used in this course. Course has overall CC BY(Creative Commons - Attribution) license, but resources used may have different licenses.

Univ. of Minnesota Libraries, 2016. "The goal of this textbook is simple: introduce students to business in an exciting way." Organized into 16 chapters, each with cases and problems. Multiple formats, including digital and print PDFs, EPUB, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.

Online and publicly open Canvas course, developed in 2016. Separated into 9 modules, with integrated quizzes and assignments. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

Instructor resources for this OpenStax textbook are freely available upon verified log-in. Resources includes PowerPoint slides, instructor's manual, and test bank. Includes a link to OER Commons Hub where faculty using this textbook share additional resources.

Developed by University of Saskatchewan instructor, 2017. "This textbook and its accompanying spreadsheet templates were designed with and for students wanting a practical and easy-to-follow guide for developing a business plan. It follows a unique format that both explains what to do and demonstrates how to do it." Organized into 8 chapters, with appendices of checklists and templates. Online, PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license.

Free videos, tutorials, modules, and mini-courses related to business, all updated in 2018-2019. Scroll down to view “Free OpenLearn courses,” which integrate readings, video, audio, and activities. Multiple downloadable and editable formats. Most content under a CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.

Saylor textbook, 2012. "The authors designed this book with a “less can be more” approach, and by treating small business management as a practical human activity rather than as an abstract theoretical concept." Organized into 16 chapters, each with key takeaways and exercises at the end of each chapter. PDF and online formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.

Michigan State University, 2020. "This book is for those whose financial management focus is on small businesses. For you, we adapt the traditional financial management themes emphasized in corporate financial management courses to meet the needs of small businesses." Organized into 4 parts, with 21 chapters. Online, PDF, and ePUB formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

CTE Online course "designed to teach individuals to perform marketing and management functions and tasks associated with owning and operating a small business. Students will develop a business plan, learn appropriate customer service and human relation skills and demonstrate positive work habits.” Requires you to create a free account to download lessons, projects, and materials. No separate text, but rather a series of lessons/units you can mix & match, with related activities and assessments. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - Non-Commercial - Share Alike) license.

Over 60 self-paced training videos and accompanying worksheets developed by the U.S. government's Small Business Administration department. Note: Some videos may require Flash. All resources in public domain.

Developed by University of Saskatchewan instructor, 2017. "This textbook and its accompanying spreadsheet templates were designed with and for students wanting a practical and easy-to-follow guide for developing a business plan. It follows a unique format that both explains what to do and demonstrates how to do it." Organized into 8 chapters, with appendices of checklists and templates. Online, PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license.

Lumen Learning course organized into 15 modules, including videos, readings, and assignments. Online format, but PDF format also available. Course has overall CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license, but individual pages have may additional or different licenses.

Saylor textbook, 2011. Organized into 5 major sections, and each chapters includes case studies and end-of-chapter questions mapped to AACSB learning standards. PDF and online versions. Peer reviews of this text also available on this site. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.

Saylor textbook, 2012, organized into 10 chapters. "Crafting a global strategy requires making decisions about which strategy elements can and should be globalized and to what extent, and de Kluyver's Fundamentals of Global Strategy can help you illuminate these facts to your students." PDF and online formats. Peer reviews of this text available on this site. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.

Springer, 2015. "This book presents theories and case studies for corporations in developed nations... for designing strategies to maximize opportunities and minimize threats in business expansion into developing nations. The case studies featured here focus on Asia, including China and India." PDF and EPUB formats, for both entire textbook and individual chapters. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license.

TED Talk by Scott Szwast, 2015. "When you think "global company," what do you imagine? A massive conglomerate? A far-reaching tech corporation? Scott Szwast reveals that our image of the global business is wrong – 98% of US exporters are in fact companies with less than fifty employees. And yet, this only includes 1% of all US businesses. He explains why so many companies hesitate to leap across the border - and why they need to make the jump."

Tip: Log into your Canvas faculty account *before* clicking on this link! Canvas course shell for retail management, shared by Mindy Bean, 2019. "Introduces students to retailing and provides an understanding of the types of businesses, strategies, operations, formats and environments through which retailing is carried out. The course takes a multi-disciplinary approach to consider the process and structure of retailing. Retailing topics to be covered will include: planning, research, consumers' behavior, store design, merchandising strategy, management strategy, promotional strategy and pricing strategy. The global dimensions of retailing as well as the relationship between retailing and our society will be stressed throughout the course." Organized into 10 weekly modules, with discussions and quizzes. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

Lumen Learning course developed to align with the Western Association of Food Chains (WAFC) retail management certificate. Organized into 15 modules, each of which include a "Why It Matters" introduction and "Putting It Together" summary. Integrated practice questions throughout. Faculty resources available, including a PDF version and PowerPoint slides. Course has overall CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license, but individual pages may have different or additional licenses.

OER textbook published by College of the Canyons, 2019. Organized into 15 modules. PDF format. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

Online course, 2016, Tyler Junior College (Texas). "Introduction to the retailing environment, types of retailer, current trends, the employment of retailing techniques, and factors that influence retailing." Includes SoftChalk lesson files as well as links to online versions. Each lesson integrates videos, activities, and assessments. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

Univ. of Minnesota Libraries, revised 2017. "Principles of Marketing teaches the experience and process of actually doing marketing - not just the vocabulary. It carries five dominant themes throughout in order to expose students to marketing in today's environment: Service dominant logic, sustainability, ethics and social responsibility, global coverage, and metrics." Each chapter includes discussion questions. Multiple formats, including online, digital and print PDF, and editable OpenDocument format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) 4.0 License

John Burnett, created 2014, updated 2019. "This text introduces students to the marketing strategies and tools that practitioners use to market their products." Print PDF and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

Lumen Learning and SUNY course. Online and PDF formats available. Organized into 15 modules, each with a "Why It Matters" intro, "Putting It Together" summary, and assignments. Faculty resources available. Course has overall CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license, but individual pages may have different or additional licenses.

Richard T. Watson, Pierre Berthon, Leyland F. Pitt, George M. Zinkhan, created 2014, updated 2019. "This book contains eight chapters. Chapter Two briefly describes the technology that makes electronic commerce possible, while Chapter Three introduces the topic of Web strategy. The major functions of marketing are described in the next five chapters: Promotion (Chapter Four); Promotion and Purchase (Chapter Five); Distribution (Chapter Six); Service (Chapter Seven); and Pricing (Chapter Eight). The final chapter takes a broader, societal perspective and discusses the influence of electronic commerce on society." Online, PDF, EPUB, and editable HTML and OpenDocument formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

Saylor course. "In this course, you will learn about the marketing process and examine the range of marketing decisions that an organization must make in order to sell its products and services. You will also learn how to think like a marketer, discovering that the focus of marketing has always been on the consumer." Organized into 6 units + study guides. TIP: Click on the "Resources" tab in the menu for a shortcut to files and links used in the course. Course has a CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license, but sources used may have different licenses.

6th edition, 2018, "includes chapters on the latest marketing trends as well as updated facts and figures and all new real-world case studies showing the application of digital best practice." 23 chapters organized into 5 parts. PDF format. Peer reviews of the text available on this site. CC BY NC SA (Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.

OpenStax test "designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the one-semester statistics course for business, economics, and related majors. Core statistical concepts and skills have been augmented with practical business examples, scenarios, and exercises." Online and PDF formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

BC Campus (British Columbia) Open Ed, updated 2019.“This new edition also allows readers to learn the basic and most commonly applied statistical techniques in business in an interactive way -- when using the web version -- through interactive Excel spreadsheets.” Does include Canadian references and examples, which can be edited. Multiple formats, including editable versions. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

Instructor resources, including PowerPoint slides and Canvas course cartridge, freely available upon verified log-in. Link to OER Commons Hub included on this page, where other faculty post ancillary resources related to this OpenStax textbook.

Open Oregon textbook, written for a community college introductory course in spreadsheets utilizing Microsoft Excel. While the figures shown utilize Excel 2016, the textbook was written to be applicable to other versions of Excel as well. Includes practice tasks and assessments at end of each chapter. Chapter 4: Presenting Data with Charts might be especially useful for Business. Multiple formats available. Data files included in the text are downloadable. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

2018 revision, includes topics of how business professionals will work with taxes, gross earnings, product prices, and currency exchange, loans, mortgages, leases, and other financial tools. Embedded examples throughout, in a Plan / Understand / Perform / Present format. Each section has exercises for mechanics, applications, and challenge/critical thinking. Includes link to request access to solutions and exercises in order to verify instructor requests. Note: Created by Canadian instructor, so some content would need to be adapted for U.S. laws and policies. Readable and editable formats available. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.

Khan Academy videos and lessons on topics like interest basics, mortgages, corporate taxation, etc. Not openly licensed but open access, which means you can link to resources.

Tip: Log into your Canvas faculty account *before* clicking on this link! Canvas course shell using OpenStax's Principles of Management OER textbook, shared by California Community Colleges CVC-OEI, 2019. Organized into chapter modules, with links to the textbook sections, key terms, chapter review questions, exercises, and critical thinking cases. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

OpenStax textbook, published Spring 2019, is "designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the introductory course on management. This is a traditional approach to management using the leading, planning, organizing, and controlling approach." Online and PDF formats available. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

University of Arkansas, 2020. "[T]eaches management principles to tomorrow’s business leaders by weaving three threads through every chapter: strategy, entrepreneurship and active leadership." Organized into 10 chapters, with integrated exercises throughout. Online and PDF formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license.

Oregon State University, 2019. "This open source textbook is derived from many sources, initially from the Principles of Management by Carpenter, Bauer, and Erdogan, but there is abundant new content as well." Incorporates student-created content. Organized into 8 sections. Faculty peer reviews of the text on this site. PDF and EPUB formats. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license.

Lumen Learning course "Organized around the well-established planning, organizing, leading, and controlling framework (or, simply, P-O-L-C). Three underlying themes carry throughout: strategic thinking, entrepreneurial thinking, and active management." Organized into 13 modules, with discussion questions, key takeaways, and exercises for many sections. Course has overall CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license, but individual pages may have different or additional licenses.

Saylor course. "In this course, you will learn to recognize the characteristics of proper management by identifying what successful managers do and how they do it. Understanding how managers work is just as beneficial for the subordinate employee as it is for the manager. This course is designed to teach you the fundamentals of management as they are practiced today." Organized into 9 units, online format. Includes study guides for students. Tip: Click on the "Resources" link to see links and downloads for resources used in the course. Course has overall CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license, but some resources used in the course may have different licenses.

OER course materials developed by Tyler Junior College, 2016. "Concepts, terminology, principles, theories, and issues in the field of management." Files are SoftChalk lessons, and the lessons themselves are linked in the record. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

Instructor resources for this OpenStax text are freely available upon a verified log-in. Resources include a Canvas course cartridge, video guide, PowerPoint slides, an instructor's manual, and test bank. Includes a link to the OER Commons Hub of additional resources other faculty can post related to this textbook.

Developed by University of Saskatchewan instructor, 2017. "This textbook and its accompanying spreadsheet templates were designed with and for students wanting a practical and easy-to-follow guide for developing a business plan. It follows a unique format that both explains what to do and demonstrates how to do it." Organized into 8 chapters, with appendices of checklists and templates. Online, PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license.