OER for Transitional Studies: Transitional Studies Starting Points

The Basic Speller is intended as a spelling program for elementary-level spelling and consists of eight volumes of 48 lessons each. It offers the students lessons and practice dealing with the relationships between sounds and their spellings. CC BY NC 3.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial)

Teacher version, covers elementary-level spelling, eight volumes of 48 lessons each. CC BY NC 3.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial)

Phonics study units with slides, worksheets, and audio versions. “The goal of this program is to provide a bridge for those students with limited literacy skills so that they are able to move on to a more traditional beginning ESL class.” 2017. CC BY NC 4.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial)

Readings, lessons, videos, and games for spelling. Can integrate CK-12 content into Canvas via an app. CC BY NC 3.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial).

Created by ESL faculty at Lane Community College. "We created this site to share the lesson plans and other materials that we use in this Listening/Speaking Level F class with other ESL teachers -- click around and use what works for you! This is a 10-week course at LCC, but you can pick and choose from the 8 chapters for a shorter or longer term." Each class topic is theme-based, with videos, lesson plans, and slides.

"This textbook is designed for beginning-intermediate English language learners. It is composed of 7 chapters, each of which covers specific speaking and listening learning objectives and includes dialogues, interviews, discussions and conversation activities. Each chapter includes listening and speaking components such as dialogues, interviews, discussions and conversation activities. Each chapter also focuses on 10 target words from the New General Service List of English vocabulary. The textbook includes an audio component that consists of recorded conversations of native and non-native English speakers, as well as links to additional listening resources on the web." 2017, written by a Portland State University instructor. Peer reviews available. CC BY NC license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial)

Collection of 40 basic stories with text and audio options in English and the most widely spoken immigrant and refugee languages in countries all over the world. 5 reading levels of stories, with instructions on how to read, listen, and download stories. Everything on this site is openly licensed, with a CC BY license (Creative Commons - Attribution), which means you can use, download, print, and even make changes to stuff, as long as you give credit (attribution) to the original source.

Podcast and video series that “offers challenging listening opportunities for upper intermediate to advanced learners and fascinating topics to do with the English language and culture.” Available as YouTube videos or mp3 podcasts. Can embed or download videos into Canvas courses. CC BY license (Creative Commons - Attribution).

5-minute activities to improve English listening skills and vocabulary. Talks are categorized into English levels (A2 basic → B1 → B2 → C1 advanced) based on the CEFR (Common European Framework of Reference for Languages. Requires a free account registration. Freely accessible but not openly licensed

Created by an English instructor in Saddleback College, CA. Funded by a Basic Skills Initiative grant from the State of California. Videos hosted on YouTube and range from 1-5 minutes. Videos have closed captioning. CC BY license (Creative Commons - Attribution)

Excellent grammar worksheets, including listening exercises. Free to use but not openly licensed.

Grammar, reading, listening exercises (web-based, not printable). Free to use but not openly licensed.

Non-profit site with free audiobooks, including classics, novellas, short stories, intermediate, and advanced.

"These educator-reviewed resources from TeachersFirst offer audio books with accompanying text so all students, including emerging readers and ESL/ELL learners, can experience literature and other reading selections in audio form as they reinforce and inspire literacy skills and enjoyment. Be sure to explore each site, as many include multiple types of activities, including the audio books and texts."

Downloadable ebooks for English learners, 7 Secrets for ESL Learners and Minimal Pairs (with audio)

Includes "print and go" ESL downloadable workbooks

Digital audiobooks, ebooks, and podcasts. Searchable and browsable by trending, top-rated, and genres.

Free public domain audio books that have been recorded by volunteers.

Download hundreds of free and openly licensed audio books, mostly classics, to your MP3 player or computer. Includes fiction, poetry, and non-fiction.

Timothy Krause, Portland Community College. "This book contains 10 easy picture stories for beginning students of English. The stories have a Lexile level of 100L-500L and address common home and school situations. Each story includes images, self-correcting comprehension exercises, and a conversation prompt."

“Each unit begins with a chapter of fiction about a teacher and students in one ESL class. Reading comprehension and reading skills exercises follow. Prefix and suffix vocabulary-focus exercises are included. Academic Word List vocabulary exercises help students build a strong foundation in both receptive and productive knowledge.” 2016, Portland State University (PDX). Written by an ESL instructor using examples for Portland, but the examples can be revised. CC BY NC license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial)

Growing site that offers several new articles each month summarizing news from around the state. Specifically created for ESOL (English for Speakers of Other Languages) and ABE (Adult Basic Education) instructor who want to use news stories and current events as content for teaching reading. Stories are labeled with word count and Lexile level (a measure of degree of difficulty), and grouped into beginner, intermediate, or advanced levels. Each story includes a related image or video, a set of online self-correcting exercises created using H5P technology, a PDF version of the text suitable for printing, and a list of sources. CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - Share Alike)

Collection of 40 basic stories with text and audio options in English and the most widely spoken immigrant and refugee languages in countries all over the world. 5 reading levels of stories, with instructions on how to read, listen, and download stories. Everything on this site is openly licensed, with a CC BY license (Creative Commons - Attribution), which means you can use, download, print, and even make changes to stuff, as long as you give credit (attribution) to the original source.

Discussion starters, reading, vocabulary on many different topics. Free to use but not openly licensed.

“Each unit begins with a chapter of fiction about a teacher and students in one ESL class. Reading comprehension and reading skills exercises follow. Prefix and suffix vocabulary-focus exercises are included. Academic Word List vocabulary exercises help students build a strong foundation in both receptive and productive knowledge.” 2016, Portland State University (PDX). Written by an ESL instructor using examples for Portland, but the examples can be revised. CC BY NC license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial)

Collection of 40 basic stories with text and audio options in English and the most widely spoken immigrant and refugee languages in countries all over the world. 5 reading levels of stories, with instructions on how to read, listen, and download stories. Everything on this site is openly licensed, with a CC BY license (Creative Commons - Attribution), which means you can use, download, print, and even make changes to stuff, as long as you give credit (attribution) to the original source.

5-minute activities to improve English listening skills and vocabulary. Talks are categorized into English levels (A2 basic → B1 → B2 → C1 advanced) based on the CEFR (Common European Framework of Reference for Languages. Requires a free account registration. Freely accessible but not openly licensed

Created by an English instructor in Saddleback College, CA. Funded by a Basic Skills Initiative grant from the State of California. Videos hosted on YouTube and range from 1-5 minutes. Videos have closed captioning. CC BY license (Creative Commons - Attribution)

Discussion starters, reading, vocabulary on many different topics. Free to use but not openly licensed.

Created by Portland Community College instructors, published by Open Oregon. "Three levels of interactive grammar and reading activities for beginning and intermediate students of ESOL [...] The grammar section includes a select set of YouTube videos, and the three original readers include short picture or chapter stories. Each lesson is accompanied by self-correcting exercises." Online, PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

Lumen Learning online course. Organized into 8 modules, including "What It Means to be a Good Reader," "Active Reading," "Critical Reading," "Reading to Respond," and more. Each module includes discussion boards and assignments. Course overall has CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license, but each page may have additional or different licenses.

Online course “focuses on helping students identify and apply foundational concepts and skills in reading and writing.” 2019, Lumen Learning. CC BY 4.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution)

Online reading anthology organized into three modules/levels with openly licensed/public domain readings. Each level includes both creative and non-fiction readings. Online format, also includes a PDF for offline use or file. Course has a CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license overall, but please note that each page of this open course lists specific attributions at the bottom of each page, which may have different licenses.

“Each unit begins with a chapter of fiction about a teacher and students in one ESL class. Reading comprehension and reading skills exercises follow. Prefix and suffix vocabulary-focus exercises are included. Academic Word List vocabulary exercises help students build a strong foundation in both receptive and productive knowledge.” 2016, Portland State University (PDX). Written by an ESL instructor using examples for Portland, but the examples can be revised. CC BY NC license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial)

Adult Literacy textbooks (available in multiple file formats) for Mathematics, English, and College Success. Most look to be CC BY licensed (Creative Commons - Attribution)

Sybil Priebe, North Dakota State College of Science, 2019. Booklet of 30+ reading activities, many incorporating technology and open resources. Includes examples of activities at the end.

Developed by Portland State University instructor, 2019. A collection of 20 reading passages that are 200-225 words, with comprehension quizzes. Online, PDF, and editable formats. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license.

“This unit introduces you to the role that English plays in the world today, and examines the social, political and cultural factors that have influenced its development.” Available as web page (linked to separate chapters/sections or as a single page) or e-book download. Licensed under CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike).

Collection of 40 basic stories with text and audio options in English and the most widely spoken immigrant and refugee languages in countries all over the world. 5 reading levels of stories, with instructions on how to read, listen, and download stories. Everything on this site is openly licensed, with a CC BY license (Creative Commons - Attribution), which means you can use, download, print, and even make changes to stuff, as long as you give credit (attribution) to the original source.

Discussion starters, reading, vocabulary on many different topics. Free to use but not openly licensed.

Grammar, reading, listening exercises (web-based, not printable). Free to use but not openly licensed.

Developed by Portland Community College instructor. Sites includes "ESOL Writing 6: Paragraph to Essay Workbook" and "ESOL Writing 8: Academic Essays and Research." PDF and Word versions for each workbook. ESOL Writing 8 includes chapter slideshows.

Textbook and course, revised edition Sept. 2018. Written by a community college instructor in Oregon. Materials for ESOL learners with intermediate-high writing skills to help transition to college-level composition courses. Includes syllabus, textbook, slideshows, creative writing journal, and homework. Each unit previewable on website; files linked to Google Docs. CC BY NC SA license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike)

Georgia State University, 2018. "[D]esigned as a comprehensive grammar and writing etext for high intermediate and advanced level non-native speakers of English. We open the text with a discussion on the sentence and then break it down into its elemental components, before reconstructing them into effective sentences with paragraphs and larger academic assignments. Following that, we provide instruction in paragraph and essay writing with several opportunities to both review the fundamentals as well as to demonstrate mastery and move on to more challenging assignments." Accessible PDF and Word formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike) license.

Lumen Learning online course that "introduces students to the writing process as a means of developing ideas into clear, correct, and effective writing." Organized into 9 modules, each with assignments and discussion boards. Course overall has CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license, but each page may have additional or different licenses.

Includes a chapter for English Language Learners and has sections on sentence-creation and grammar. 2015, Univ. of Minnesota. Multiple file formats available to download and edit. CC BY NC SA 4.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial).

Includes a chapter on Multilingual Writers and ESL Challenges, as well as other chapters on basic grammar. 2016, Klamath Community College in Oregon. CC BY 4.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution)

Includes a “Grammar and Mechanics” section. 2017, Wikibooks. Online, printable, and PDF versions available. CC BY SA 3.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike)

Online course “focuses on helping students identify and apply foundational concepts and skills in reading and writing.” 2019, Lumen Learning. CC BY 4.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution)

3 flexbook textbooks currently available: Commonsense Composition, The Glyfada Method, and Journalism 101. CC BY NC 3.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial)

Curriculum library of standards-aligned grammar and writing topics designed for students in Grades 5-12. Some resources freely available, but not openly licensed, for registered users. Requires registration (see the “Getting Started Guide for Free Users” guide).

Michele Miller and Anne Greenhoe, Portland State University Library, 2018. "This Open Access Textbook will guide students through their English language to academic degree studies [...] Key elements include culture and expectations in an American university, transferring academic skills from ESL to content-specific academic courses, and helpful exercises to be academically successful."

“This material is for low beginning/literacy ESL students who need life skill instruction. There is a teacher's manual, student book, blackline masters and audio for every lesson.” 2003, California Department of Education grant, co-authored by Grace Tanaka. CC BY NC SA 4.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike)

Adult Literacy textbooks (available in multiple file formats) for Mathematics, English, and College Success. Most look to be CC BY licensed (Creative Commons - Attribution)

OER textbook by Morgan Chase, Clackamas Community College, published by Oregon State University, 2021. "This developmental-level mathematics textbook is intended for career-technical students." Organized into 30 modules, from "Order of Operations" to "Standard Deviation." Includes exercises and exercise answers for each module. Online, PDF, and e-book formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license.

Tip: Log into your TCC Canvas faculty account *before* clicking on this link! OER Canvas course shared by Grays Harbor College instructor, 2020. "Transitions Math I course is comprised of six modules that focus on arithmetic: whole numbers, fractions (2 modules), decimals, ratios and proportions, and percents. Most lessons have a pretest, video lesson(s), follow up quiz(zes) and homework. At the end of each module, there is a practice test and answer key. The module does not include the module tests or the final exam. The course is designed for GED students, high school completion students, and students brushing up for the college placement test." Includes modules, assignments, quizzes, and discussions. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.

"This text will help the student develop the insight and intuition necessary to master arithmetic techniques and manipulative skills." 11 chapters. Peer reviews of the text are available on this site. Online, PDF, and offline zip file formats available. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

Materials developed by Scottsdale Community College instructors for developmental math sequence, 2013. Student workbook, mini-lesson worksheets, practice problem worksheets, and mini-lesson videos, organized into 11 weeks. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license.

Materials developed by Scottsdale Community College instructors for developmental math sequence, 2014. Student workbook, worksheets, and mini-lesson videos, organized into 12 weeks. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license.

Materials developed by Scottsdale Community College instructors for developmental math sequence, 2015. Student workbook, mini-lesson worksheets, practice problem worksheets, and mini-lesson videos, organized into 12 weeks. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

Adult Literacy textbooks (available in multiple file formats) for Mathematics, English, and College Success. Most look to be CC BY licensed (Creative Commons - Attribution)

Biggest open content provider for K-12 STEM content. Look on the left column for links to Math subjects, including Grades 1-5, Arithmetic, Measurement, and more. CC BY NC 3.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial)

“ABCya is the leader in free educational computer games and mobile apps for kids. The innovation of a grade school teacher, ABCya is an award-winning destination for elementary students that offers hundreds of fun, engaging learning activities.” Free online games for Pre-K through 5th grade. Alphabet, numbers, money, geography, parts of speech, typing, technology vocabulary, skills -- INCLUDES MATH! Holiday themed games available. No charge to use on PCs. Mobile-friendly version requires a subscription

TED-Ed videos are short, award-winning animated videos about ideas that spark the curiosity of learners everywhere. This link takes you to technology-themed TED-Ed videos and lessons. Many TED-Ed videos come with integrated lesson plans with discussion starters and activities.

Technology-themed articles from ESL Brains, a site of materials for teaching English based on TED Talks and other videos worth watching. Everything on this site is licensed under a CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - No Derivatives) license.

A resource of educational web tools and mobile apps for teachers and educators. Everything on this site is licensed under a CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - No Derivatives license, meaning you can download, print, share or distribute it the way you want provided as long as you include a link back to the blog, keep it free of charge, and use it only for educational purposes.

CK-12 is probably the biggest open content provider for K-12 STEM content. CK-12 provides standards-aligned teaching resources. Content is mapped to a variety of levels and standards, including common core.

Video series from REEP, the Arlington Education and Employment Program of Arlington, Virginia, showing different ways to incorporate smartphones in adult ESL instruction. Each video is 3-4 minutes long and highlights student projects and activities.

This instructor's blog includes a variety of teaching materials. Many of them are geared at a beginning and intermediate level and are suitable for ESL students of many ages. The instructor's research interests are in language center studies and computer-assisted language learning (CALL).

Art lessons, guides, and activities for K-12 educators and students. Everything in the J. Paul Getty Museum Curricula is CC BY licensed (Creative Commons - Attribution).

"Looking for ways to add art activities to your English language classroom? Create to Communicate is filled with great activities and lessons that use art to foster English language development. This book is intended for English language teachers who would like to reap the benefits that the visual arts provide, but are unsure of where or how to begin. By providing language objectives matched with art ideas and guidelines, this book seeks to use the arts as a tool to build and strengthen English reading, writing, listening, and speaking skills and develop the confidence students need to take risks and explore within a new language." Developed by the U.S. Dept. of State. Downloadable PDFs. Public domain.

Created by Denise Ranney and published by Whatcom Community College. Organized into 6 lessons about Washington state history: Our Land, Our Native American Heritage, Cultural & Economic Change, Our State Government, Local Governments, and Current Economy. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) format.