Library Resources - CMST 220 - Public Speaking (Budak)

Places to Start

Databases
Library Catalog

CultureGrams
Reference book articles with demographic and cultural information. Brief articles cover world countries and U.S. states. Includes maps, statistics and data as well as cultural information such as famous people, recipes and photographs. Covers world countries as well as U.S. states.

Reference book articles with demographic and cultural information. Brief articles cover world countries and U.S. states. Includes maps, statistics and data as well as cultural information such as famous people, recipes and photographs. Covers world countries as well as U.S. states (including state symbols and audio files for state birds).

URL: https://clarkcollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://online.culturegrams.com
CQ Researcher
Weekly articles focusing in-depth on a single "hot topic" issue. Topics are taken from the headlines and include social, political, environmental, health, education, science and technology issues.

Weekly articles focusing in-depth on a single "hot topic" issue. Topics are taken from the headlines and include social, political, environmental, health, education, science and technology issues.

URL: https://cqpress-sagepub-com.clarkcollege.idm.oclc.org/cqresearcher/
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Subject encyclopedias and other reference books to give you background information.

Encyclopedia articles from subject-specific encyclopedias and reference books. Includes more than 340 academic, subject-specific encyclopedias and reference books. Academic encyclopedia titles included in this collection are hand-selected by librarians to specifically meet the needs of Clark College students.

"Using Gale Virtual Reference Library - The Basics" URL: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rGti7QzowLk

"Using Gale's GVRL - Searching" URL: https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=50&v=_8-pe6tV0XA

"Using Gale's GVRL - Reading eBooks" URL: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J2YrvM9or0k

URL: https://clarkcollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://go.galegroup.com/ps/dispBasicSearch.do?userGroupName=clark_integrated&prodId=GVRL.reference

Library Catalog
A powerful search tool that will help you: find variety of sources (articles, books, e-books...) in one place; store and organize your research materials; and format citations automatically

Find Books in Library Catalog

Start on the library home page, library.clark.edu

Note that by default you are searching "Clark + Summit + articles" (books, newspaper and magazine articles, scholarly articles, and more)

You can also limit to "Clark Libraries" (just Clark items) or "Clark + Summit Libraries" (also includes items from our partner libraries)

Use the features on the left bar to limit your search to books, ebooks, articles, etc.

Summit Borrowing

Summit Borrowing
Summit is the shared catalog for a consortium of academic libraries in Oregon, Washington, and Idaho. Clark students, faculty, and staff can request materials for free from any of the participating schools.

Choose Databases

Choose Databases from Databases A-Z List

Introduction to Choosing Databases

The library subscribes to many databases (135!) that cover a broad range of subjects. Two databases, Academic Search Complete and ProQuest, are good databases to start with for just about every subject. Sometimes, though, you need to use a database that provides more journals for a specific subject. This tutorial shows you how to use LibGuides features to find subject-specific databases.

Choose Databases From the Subject List

Start at library.clark.edu.
Choose research.
Choose articles & databases.
Click the drop-down arrow for All Subjects.
Find the broad subject that your topic would fall under.
For example, if your topic is grade inflation, the broad subject would be Education.
Select Education.
This page lists all the databases that are related to the topic you chose.
You may notice that Academic Search Complete and ProQuest show up on the list for just about every topic. These two databases are always a good place to start.

Choose Databases from LibGuides Home Page

Start at library.clark.edu.
Click Research.
Select By Subject.
From the list, find the broad subject that your topic would fall under.
For example, if your topic is about grade inflation, you would search under Education.
Select Education.
You may find class guides or tutorials…
Click on the link for the Subject Homepage.
Click the tab for databases to see a list of all the library’s databases related to education.

Search Multiple EBSCOhost databases at the Same Time

Start at library.clark.edu.
Click "Research."
Click "Databases A-Z List."
Click "Academic Search Complete."
Click "Choose Databases."
Click the hyperlinked text above the search field that says "Academic Search Complete."
The pop-up screen lists all the databases available from the same company (EBSCOhost).
Click the databases that are related to your topic.
For example, if your topic is grade inflation, click ERIC, because it’s a database full of articles on education topics.
Choose as many as you want.
Click "Select."
Click the hyperlinked text again to see al the databases you're searching.

CMST 220 - Public Speaking (Budak): Library Resources