Research Guides: Find Opposing Views (Pros and Cons): Find Articles & Books

Focus Words: The Secret to Finding Opposing Viewpoints

The secret to finding articles on opposite sides of an issue are to include focus words in your search. Focus words are just words will zoom in on specific viewpoints, or look for articles that discuss controversies.

The example shows searching the topic words climate change and the focus word controversy:

Use the lists below to find focus words that looks useful for your topic and try them. Be aware that controversial topics are often tied to political opinions or agendas.

Find Articles in Magazines, Journals & Newspapers

Good databases to start with:

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Weekly articles focusing in-depth on a single "hot topic" issue.
Weekly articles focusing in-depth on a single "hot topic" issue. Topics are taken from the headlines and include social, political, environmental, health, education, science and technology issues.

URL: https://cqpress-sagepub-com.clarkcollege.idm.oclc.org/cqresearcher/
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Essays that present multiple sides of a current issue.
A series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications. Formerly Points of View Reference Center.

URL: https://clarkcollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=pwh
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers for all academic disciplines.
Articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers for all academic disciplines. This collection includes the following full-text content, in addition to thousands of searchable cited resources:
3,618 active, full-text, non-open access journals and magazines
3,099 active, full-text, peer-reviewed, non-open access journals
1,298 active, full-text, peer-reviewed, non-open access journals with no embargo
2,444 active, full-text, non-open access journals indexed in Web of Science or Scopus

This database is hosted on EBSCO platform and includes Academic Search Premier.

URL: https://clarkcollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and newspapers.
Articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and newspapers. By default this ProQuest link searches Research Library, Family Health Database, National Newspapers, and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry; full text and graphics available.

Explore ProQuest's Youtube Channel for a series of training videos.

URL: https://clarkcollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/advanced

Focus Words

advocates
"advocates argue"
"advocates agree" arguments
"arguments against"
"arguments in favor"
combating
contradictions
contradictory
controversy
debate
denial
deny
emerging trends

environmental scan
naysayers
opinions
opposition
opponents
opposing views
opposing viewpoints
politics
sceptics
shifting politics
supreme court
theory

conservative
conservative opinions
evangelical
GOP
political right
republican
right wing

democrat
left wing
liberal
liberal opinions
political left

Find Books

The library has specific books that cover hot topics and pro/con arguments. Search for your topic and one of the series names:

Opposing Viewpoints
Current Controversies
At Issue
Taking Sides