| Student title page element | Format | Example |
|---|---|---|
| Paper title | Place the title three to four lines down from the top of the title page. Center it and type it in bold font. Capitalize major words of the title. Place the main title and any subtitle on separate double-spaced lines if desired. There is no maximum length for titles; however, keep titles focused and include key terms. | Impact of Gender on the Evaluation of Humor in Romantic Relationship |
| Author names | Place one double-spaced blank line between the paper title and the author names. Center author names on their own line. If there are two authors, use the word “and” between authors; if there are three or more authors, place a comma between author names and use the word “and” before the final author name. | Cecily J. Sinclair and Adam Gonzaga |
| Author affiliation | For a student paper, the affiliation is the institution where the student attends school. Include both the name of any department and the name of the college, university, or other institution, separated by a comma. Center the affiliation on the next double-spaced line after the author name(s). | Department of Psychology, University of Georgia |
| Course number and name | Provide the course number as shown on instructional materials, followed by a colon and the course name. Center the course number and name on the next double-spaced line after the author affiliation. | PSY 201: Introduction to Psychology |
| Instructor name | Provide the name of the instructor for the course using the format shown on instructional materials. Center the instructor name on the next double-spaced line after the course number and name. | Dr. Rowan J. Estes |
| Assignment due date | Provide the due date for the assignment. Center the due date on the next double-spaced line after the instructor name. | October 18, 2020 |
| Page number | Use the page number 1 on the title page. Use the automatic page-numbering function of your word processing program to insert page numbers in the top right corner of the page header. | 1 |
"For works without DOIs from most academic research databases, do not include a URL or database information...Provide the name [and URL] of the database or archive when it publishes original, proprietary works available only in that database or archive...."
Clark databases with proprietary works (provide name of database and URL for database home page):
| APA 7 | MLA | |
| At the top of the citations page... | References | Works Cited |
| Capitalization |
Capitalize the first word, first word after a colon, and proper nouns in titles: Focusing “upstream” to address maternal and child health inequities: Two local health departments in Washington State make the transition Capitalize all main words in a journal, magazine, or newspaper title: Maternal and Child Health Journal |
Capitalize all the main words in titles: "Focusing 'Upstream' to Address Maternal and Child Health Inequities: Two Local Health Departments in Washington State Make the Transition." Maternal and Child Health Journal |
| Period or comma? |
Periods after author name(s), year, title, publishers, page numbers, and the end of print source citations. Commas after periodical title and volume/issue. |
Periods after author name(s), title, page numbers, and at the end of citations. Commas after publisher, year (if page numbers), periodical title, volume, number, and database. |
| Italics |
Italicize titles of books, periodicals, webpages, and volume |
Italicize book titles, databases, and periodicals. |
| DOI, permalink, or URL? |
Use the DOI (format: https://doi.org/xxxxx). If there is no DOI, for most books or articles from library databases, do not list a URL. For other works, use a hyperlinked URL that links directly to the cited work. For more guidance, see the APA Style page for DOIs and URLs. |
Use the DOI if one is provided. If no DOI, look for a permalink. If no permalink, use the URL from the address bar. |
| Author(s) |
Two authors: Gibbs, J. T., & Huang, L. Three to twenty authors: Franco, R., Schoneveld, O. J., Pappa, A., & Panayiotidis, M. I. More than twenty authors (list the first 19 authors, an ellipsis, then the last author): Gilbert, D. G., McClernon, J. F., Rabinovich, N. E., Sugai, C., Plath, L. C., Asgaard, G., Botros, N., . . . Li, I. |
Two authors: Gibbs, Jewelle T., and Larke Huang. Three or more authors (list the first author's name, then et al.): Franco, Robert, et al. |
| In text citations |
One author: (Walker, 2017) Two authors: (Dorris & Erdrich, 2014) Three or more authors: (Wasserstein et al., 2005) Include the page number(s) for a direct quote: "Medical needs are met by those in the medical disciplines" (Csikai & Chaitin, 2006, p. 112). When there is no author, use the title (shorten it if it's long): ("Study Finds," 2017, pp. 1-2) For more examples see pages 264-265 of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. |
One author: (Walker 194) Two authors: (Dorris and Erdrich 23) Three authors: (Bradley et al. 42) When there is no author, use the first word or two of the title in italics: (Study Finds 3) When there is no page number, just use the author name(s) For more examples see pages 54-58 and 116-117 of the MLA Handbook. |
| Secondary/indirect sources |
If you read a work by Lyon (2014) in which Rabbitt (1982) was cited, and you were unable to read Rabbitt's work yourself, list Lyon's work in the reference list. In the text, use the following citation: (Rabbitt, 1982, as cited in Lyon et al., 2014) If the year of the primary source is unknown, omit it from the in-text citation. …Allport's diary (as cited in Nicholson, 2003). Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, p. 258 |
If Allport is quoted in Nicholson and you did not read Allport, list Nicholson in your works cited. In the text, use the following citation: Samuel Allport admitted that Edmund Burke was an "extraordinary man" (qtd. in Nicholson 450). MLA Handbook, p. 284 |
