The library subscribes to many databases (87!) that cover a broad range of subjects. Two databases, Academic Search Premier (now Academic Search Complete) and ProQuest, are good databases to start with for just about every subject. Sometimes, though, you need to use a database that provides more journals for a specific subject. This tutorial shows you how to can use LibGuides features to find subject-specific databases.
Start at library.clark.edu
Choose research
Choose articles & databases
Click the drop-down arrow for All Subjects.
Find the broad subject that your topic would fall under.
For example, if your topic is grade inflation, the broad subject would be Education.
Select Education.
This page lists all the databases that are related to the topic you chose.
You may notice that Academic Search Premier and ProQuest show up on the list for just about every topic. These two databases are always a good place to start.
Start at library.clark.edu.
Click Research.
Select By Subject
From the list, find the broad subject that your topic would fall under.
For example, if your topic is about grade inflation, you would search under Education.
Select Education.
You may find class guides or tutorials…
Click on the link for the Subject Homepage
Click the tab for databases to see a list of all the library’s databases related to education.
Start at library.clark.edu.
Click Research.
Click Databases A-Z List.
Click Academic Search Complete.
Click Choose Databases.
The pop-up screen lists all the databases available from the same company (EBSCOhost). Mouse over the little text icons to learn more about each database.
Click the databases that are related to your topic.
For example, if your topic is grade inflation, click ERIC, because it’s a database full of articles on education topics.
Choose as many as you want.
Click OK.
Click Show All to see all the databases you’re searching.