Textbooks, courses, and readers:
Process of Communication (OER textbook)College of the Canyons, 2020. Organized into 13 chapters, each with interactive boxes, discussion questions, and key terms. PDF format in Google Drive. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
A Primer on Communication Studies (OER textbook)Published 2012, available on the Univ. of Hawaii OER site. "Introduction to communication studies." PDF format. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Communication in the Real World: An Introduction to Communication Studies (Univ. of Minnesota Libraries textbook)Textbook adapted by Univ. of Minnesota, 2016. "Communication in the Real World: An Introduction to Communication Studies overviews the time-tested conceptual foundations of the field, while incorporating the latest research and cutting-edge applications of these basics. Each chapter will include timely, concrete, and real-life examples of communication concepts in action." Online, print PDF, digital PDF, and editable OpenDocument formats. Organized into 16 chapters. Peer reviews of the text available on this site. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - Share Alike) license.
Introduction to Communication (Lumen Learning course)Course adapted by Alamo Colleges instructor through an Achieving the Dream grant and hosted via Lumen Learning. Organized into 13 modules with integrated links and videos. Faculty resources, including discussions, assignments, and assessments, freely available upon verified request. Online format. Course overall has CC BY SA (Creative Commons - ShareAlike) license, but individual pages may have different or additional licenses.
COMM001: Principles of Communication (Saylor course)Saylor Academy course, with 5 units that "will introduce you to communication principles, common communication practices, and a selection of theories to better understand the communication transactions that you experience in your daily life. The principles and practices that you study in this course will provide the foundation for further study in communications." Includes end-of-unit assessments (available upon free log-in). Final exam is NOT openly licensed. TIP: Click on the "Resources" link in the course menu for a shortcut to resources and files used in the course. Web version only. Licensed under a CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license, but sources used may have different or additional licenses.
Communication Theory (open textbook)Open textbook, 2013. "This book is an introduction to communication theory — the theory of how humans share, encode, and decode what they know, what they need, and what they expect from each other." Online and print PDF formats. Peer reviews of the text available on this site. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
CMST 101 – Intro to Communication (Open Course Library)SBCTC's Open Course Library, last updated in 2013. Course uses low-cost textbook and supplemental readings, but course assessments and learning activities are openly licensed with a CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Google Drive organized into "Course Units" and "Course Resources" folders.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
Intercultural Communication: Creating Intercultural Communication Competence (OER textbook)College of the Canyons, last updated 2020. "The following chapters will cover topics such as: understanding cultural identity, social construction, cultural biases, and culture shock." Includes interactive features and critical thinking questions. Organized into 8 chapters. PDF format in Google Drive. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Leading with Cultural Intelligence (Saylor textbook)Saylor textbook, 2012, with the purpose to "outline the important ideas of cultural intelligence and the steps that must be considered and then practiced to become a culturally intelligent leader." Organized into 8 chapters. PDF and online formats. Peer reviews of the text are available on this site. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Cultural Competence in a Multicultural World (toolkit)From the Community Tool Box site, a service of the Center for Community Health and Development at the University of Kansas. This toolkit includes sections on "Understanding Culture and Diversity in Building Communities" and "Multicultural Collaboration," among others. Online format, with a checklist and PowerPoint slides. CC BY NC SA 3.0 (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial ShareAlike) license.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
Diversity and difference in communication (OpenLearn mini-course)OpenLearn mini-course, with modules that "explore the ways in which difference and diversity impact on the nature of communication in health and social care services." Organized into 6 modules, some with integrated activities. Online format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Enhancing Cultural Competence (toolkit)2018 toolkit from the Community Toolbox, a service of the Center for Community Health and Development at the University of Kansas. Online format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Canvas course shells:
CMST& 220 Public Speaking (WACTC OER course)Tip: Log into your Canvas faculty account *before* clicking on this link! OER Canvas course shared by SBCTC, 2020. Includes modules, assignments, quizzes, and discussions. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
Speak Out, Call In: Public Speaking as Advocacy (OER textbook)Published by University of Kansas Libraries, 2019, this OER textbook is "a contemporary, interdisciplinary public speaking textbook that fuses rhetoric, critical/cultural studies, and performance to offer an up-to-date resource for students. With a focus on advocacy, this textbook invites students to consider public speaking as a political, purposeful form of information-sharing." Organized into 4 sections, with 15 chapters. Online and PDF formats. This site includes faculty peer reviews of this text. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.
Exploring Public Speaking, 4th ed. (open textbook + ancillary resources)Developed by Dalton State College instructors through a Georgia Galileo grant, 4th ed. published Summer 2019. 15 chapters + appendices, "especially useful in coverage of PowerPoint, audience responsiveness, ethics in public speaking, special occasion speeches, and structure of speeches. Three ancillaries are available: electronic “flash cards” for study, Powerpoints on the 15 main chapters, and test banks for the 15 main chapters." Ancillary resources available upon request. PDF, Word, EPUB, and Kindle formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Stand Up, Speak Out: The Practice and Ethics of Public SpeakingUniv. of Minnesota Libraries, 2016. "Stand up, Speak out: The Practice and Ethics of Public Speakingfeatures two key themes. First it focuses on helping students become more seasoned and polished public speakers, and second is its emphasis on ethics in communication." Organized into 18 chapters, each with chapter exercises. Online, digital PDF, print PDF, and editable OpenDocument formts. Peer reviews of the text available on this site. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
The Public Speaking Project (virtual textbook)Virtual textbook developed by communication and speech professionals, 2011. Organized into 18 chapters, each with downloadable color and grayscale versions, as well as supplemental chapter resources. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) license.
Fundamentals of Public Speaking (OER textbook)College of the Canyons, 2019. Organized into 14 chapters plus appendices. Each chapter includes review questions and glossary of vocabulary. PDF format in Google Drive. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Principles of Public Speaking course (via Lumen Learning)Co-developed by TCC communications instructor for the Kaleidoscope Open Course Initiative, hosted via Lumen Learning. Organized into 17 modules, with some content coming from The Public Speaking Project. Faculty resources available, including assignments and example syllabi. Online format with a downloadable PDF version. Course overall has CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license, but some pages and content may have different or additional licenses.
Public Speaking course (via Lumen Learning)Developed by Clinton Community College instructor through an Achieving the Dream grant and hosted via Lumen Learning. Organized into 6 modules, and focusing primarily on different types of speeches. Modules organized into Read, Discuss, and Do structure. Some modules incorporate chapters from The Public Speaking Project. Includes a mid-term and final test. Original content under a CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license, but some pages include different or additional licenses.
CMST 220 – Public Speaking (Open Course Library)Open Course Library course developed by SBCTC, last updated in 2012. Includes course readings, rubrics, and assignments. Organized in a Google Drive with two major folders: Course Resources and Course Units. Unlike some Open Course Library courses, this one is NOT dependent on a low-cost textbook. CC BY (Attribution) license.
Boundless Communications (via Lumen Learning)Boundless content hosted on Lumen Learning platform focusing on public speaking. Multiple modules that include sample speeches. Instructor resources freely available upon verified request. Online and EPUB formats. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license.
COMM101: Public Speaking (Saylor course)Saylor Academy course, with 15 units that "systematically examines the elements of an effective speech." Final exam is NOT openly licensed. TIP: Click on the "Resources" link in the course menu for a shortcut to resources and files used in the course. Web format only. Licensed under a CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license, but sources used may have different or additional licenses.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
Exploring Public Speaking, 4th ed. (open textbook + ancillary resources)Developed by Dalton State College instructors through a Georgia Galileo grant, 4th ed. published Summer 2019. 15 chapters + appendices, "especially useful in coverage of PowerPoint, audience responsiveness, ethics in public speaking, special occasion speeches, and structure of speeches. Three ancillaries are available: electronic “flash cards” for study, Powerpoints on the 15 main chapters, and test banks for the 15 main chapters." Ancillary resources available upon request. PDF, Word, EPUB, and Kindle formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Classroom resources for The Public Speaking Project virtual textbook"Lecture modules [videos] and learning activities that focus on the basics of speech writing and delivery." Video lectures available as YouTube videos or MP3 downloads. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) license.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
Interpersonal Communication (OER textbook)College of the Canyons, last updated 2020. PDF format in Google Drive. Portions of this text were adapted from A Primer on Communication Studies. "The following chapters will cover topics such as: dealing with conflict, how to communicate in professional and personal relationships, and self-presentation in communication." Includes interactive features to help students engage with concepts. Organized into 6 chapters plus appendix. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
CMST 210 – Interpersonal Communication (Open Course Library)Open Course Library course developed by SBCTC, last updated in 2013. Includes course readings, unit outlines, and assignments. Organized in a Google Drive with two major folders: Course Resources and Course Units. Unlike some Open Course Library courses, this one is NOT dependent on a low-cost textbook. CC BY (Attribution) license.
The Seven Challenges Workbook: Communication Skills for Success at Home & Work"This workbook proposes seven ways to guide your conversations in directions that are more satisfying for both you and your conversation partners," created 1997-2018. Focuses on talking, listening, conflict resolutions, and effective team-building. Online and PDF formats, also available in Spanish. Additional resources in the Library tab, including Conflict Resolution Emergency Kit and Resources for Communication Skills Classes and Group. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license.
Library e-books with unlimited user access:
Interpersonal communication by Charles R. Berger (Editor)Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2014
"This handbook comprehensively covers the field including research on processes of social influence, the role of communication in the development, maintenance and decline of close personal relationships, nonverbal communication, cognitive approaches, communication and conflict, bargaining and negotiation, health communication, organizational socialization and supervisor-subordinate communication, social networks, and technologically-mediated interpersonal communication." Organized into 5 main parts, including an introduction, fundamental processes, functions, and contexts.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
Small Group Communication (OER textbook)College of the Canyons, last updated 2020. Organized into 10 chapters, each with learning objectives, key takeaways, and exercises. PDF format in Google Drive. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
CMST& 230 Small Group Communication (Open Course Library)Open Course Library course developed by SBCTC, last updated in 2013. Includes course readings, assignments, information literacy assessments. Organized in a Google Drive with two major folders: Course Resources and Course Units. Unlike some Open Course Library courses, this one is NOT dependent on a low-cost textbook. CC BY (Attribution) license.
An Introduction to Group Communication (online textbook)Online textbook "offers a practical introduction to the theory and practice of group communication, with an emphasis on real world applications to develop an awareness, understanding, and skills to effectively participate as a productive group member. Through a clear and concise approach to group decision-making and dynamics in teams and leadership, students are presented with the tools needed to create plans, find solutions to problems, produce goods or deliver services, and evaluate their performance through self and peer assessments." Co-adapted by a Clover Park Technical College instructor. Organized into 12 chapters. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - Share Alike) license.
Managing Groups and Teams (Wikibooks)Wikibook textbook Includes communication issues with groups and teams, primarily from a management and leadership perspective. Last edited in 2019. Online, Printable/editable and PDF formats. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - Share Alike) license.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
Problem Solving in Teams and Groups (OER textbook)Cameron W. Piercy, University of Kansas Libraries, 2019. Focuses on group dynamics. Written for an upper-level college communications course, but sections may be useful for examples and case studies. Organized into 3 sections, with 23 chapters. Online and PDF formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Working in groups and teams (OpenLearn mini-course)OpenLearn mini-course with 8 modules, some with integrated activities. Online, PDF, EPUB, Kindle, and Word formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Communication in the Real World: An Introduction to Communication Studies (Univ. of Minnesota Libraries textbook)Textbook adapted by Univ. of Minnesota, 2016. "Communication in the Real World: An Introduction to Communication Studies overviews the time-tested conceptual foundations of the field, while incorporating the latest research and cutting-edge applications of these basics. Each chapter will include timely, concrete, and real-life examples of communication concepts in action." Online, print PDF, digital PDF, and editable OpenDocument formats. Organized into 16 chapters. Peer reviews of the text available on this site. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - Share Alike) license.
Communication ChecklistChecklist worksheet, 2017, created for students to work on group projects to make sure they are using good communication skills. Online format. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
Business Communication Skills for Managers (Lumen Learning course)Lumen Learning course where "students learn how to effectively communicate in business, with an emphasis on the use of these skills as a manager. The course introduces important elements of successful communication, providing examples of effective communication and providing students opportunities to practice the same.” Online format, but PDF version of the course is available upon request via a form on the “Faculty Resources” page. Organized into 15 modules, each with a “Why It Matters” introduction and “Putting It Together” summary. Course is geared toward business students. Course has overall CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license, but some pages may have different or additional licenses.
Business Communication for Success (open textbook)Univ. of Minnesota Libraries, 2015. “[P]rovides a comprehensive, integrated approach to the study and application of written and oral business communication to serve both student and professor.” Organized into 19 chapters, from Ch. 1 Effective Business Communication to Ch. 19 Group Communication, Teamwork, and Leadership. Multiple formats available, including online, digital PDF, and print PDF. Peer reviews of this text available on this site. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license
Management Communication (open textbook)Brigham Young University, 2017. “Communication is the heart of business. Short emails, complex reports, private chats, impassioned pitches, formal presentations, and team meetings move information and ideas around an organization, define strategy, and drive decisions. Business communication is concise, direct, clear, and compelling.” PDF with lots of integrated sources (Google Docs, websites, videos). Available as full textbook PDF, but if you click the chapters on the Contents page, you go into individual chapter PDFs. Organized into 14 chapters. Peer reviews of this text available on this site. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license.
Introduction to Professional Communications (open textbook)Kwantlen Polytechnic University (Canada), updated 2019. "This book covers key business communications topics that will help you in your career, including intercultural communication, team work, professional writing, audience analysis and adapting messages, document formatting, oral communication, and more.” Organized into 8 main parts, with sub-sections. Multiple formats, including web, EPUB, Digital PDF, Print PDF, and editable formats OpenDocument (compatible with Word) and Common Cartridge. CC BY NC SA 4.0 (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Organizational Communication (open textbook)Granite State College textbook. “Demonstrate an understanding of key topics and concepts, including communication networks, media management, organizational culture and climate, intercultural communication, meetings management, ethical communication, assessing communication quality, and crisis communication – and the impact of social technologies.” 14 chapters + appendix. Multiple formats available, including online, EPUB, Digital PDF, Print PDF, and MOBI. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license.
CUST104: Business Communications (Saylor course)Saylor course "will not tell you what to say during your business communications or when to say it. Instead, you will learn how to plan, produce, and perform acts of communication that satisfy the most demanding audience: your customers." Organized into 6 units. TIP: Click on the "Resources" menu link for a shortcut to all the files and links to resources used in the course. Course has overall CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license, but sources used may have different licenses.
Principles of Management for Leadership Communication (OER textbook)University of Arkansas, 2020. "[T]eaches management principles to tomorrow’s business leaders by weaving three threads through every chapter: strategy, entrepreneurship and active leadership." Organized into 10 chapters, with integrated exercises throughout. Online and PDF formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
Professional Communication OER Modules“A series of modules intended for use in Higher Education courses or by independent learners… the resource will be useful for instructors whose courses cover introductory communication skills, workplace communication, technical communication or business writing. It contains four modules, each with its own lesson plans, assets, assessments and supporting materials.” Four modules: Foundations, Writing, Presentation, and Interpersonal. Note: Developed by instructors in Canada. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
How to Conduct a Meeting in an Intercultural Setting moduleThe Cain Project in Engineering and Professional Communication, created 2008, updated 2019. “This module offers a version of the Harvard Negotiating Process suitable for conducting village meetings and intercultural discussions about engineering projects in student outreach programs such as Engineers without Borders.” Online format. Useful as an additional reading or in-class activity? Module integrates an assignment that is based on a case study. Product of an open pedagogy project; students contributed to readings, the assignment, and wrote personal commentaries. Written by engineering students and does reference engineering, but this could be edited. CC BY 2.0 (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
Media, Society, Culture and You: An Introductory Mass Communication Text (Rebus textbook)Created by professor at Southern Illinois University, 2018. "Media, Society, Culture, and You is an approachable introductory Mass Communication text that covers major mass communication terms and concepts including "digital culture." It discusses various media platforms and how they are evolving as Information and Communication Technologies change." Organized into 10 chapters and includes an accessibility assessment. Online, digital PDF, print PDF, EPUB, and editable OpenDocument formats. Peer reviews of the text available on this site. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Understanding Media and Culture: An Introduction to Mass Communication (open textbook)Univ. of Minnesota Libraries, 2016. "An introductory text in mass communication" organized into 16 chapters. Peer reviews of the site available on this site. Online, digital PDF, and print PDF formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Media Innovation and Entrepreneurship (open textbook)Updated in 2019. This is a modular open textbook designed for entrepreneurial journalism, media innovation, and related courses. Includes business-related chapters, like "Developing the Entrepreneurial Mindset," "Customer Discovery," and "Business Models for Content & Technology Ventures." Integrates "from the field" case studies and exercises. PDF, online, EPUB, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
CMST 102 – Intro to Mass Media (Open Course Library)SBCTC's Open Course Library, last updated in 2013. Course uses low-cost textbook, but course assessments and learning activities are openly licensed with a CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Google Drive folders organized into "Course Week Folders" and "Course Resources"
Interpersonal communication by 
