Home - ENGL 121 - Intro to Creative Writing (Knopf) - Research Guides at Clark College

Library Books related to Underrepresented Histories

Come to the library and check out these books for free! You can make a local hold ahead of time or contact a librarian for help.

This is just a small selection of books available to you as a Clark student!

This is just a small fraction of our history books! Here's a search of our library catalog for the phrase people's history, narrowed down to print and e-books.

Browse through these history websites and archives for inspiration!

Questions? Want to find information on something else? Email a Clark Librarian - we are excited to help you!

History Link
A free online encyclopedia of Washington state history.
The Oregon Encyclopedia
A free, browsable digital encyclopedia with thousands of articles about Oregon history.
University of Washington Digital Collections
"Photographs, maps, newspapers, posters, reports and other media from the University of Washington Libraries."
Plateau Peoples' Web Portal
When accessing this website, please read the pop-up window about respectful engagement with traditional indigenous knowledge. "This portal is a collaboratively curated and reciprocally managed archive of Plateau cultural materials."
Digital Resources Guide for the Labor Archives of Washington
Materials about the Industrial Workers of the World (I.W.W.) in the Northwest, the Seattle General Strike, Cannery Worker Unionism, SeaTac/Seattle Minimum Wage History Project, and more.
Oregon TimeWeb
"An interactive timeline of archival materials and historical scholarship on the history of Oregon."
Oregon History Wayfinder
"An interactive map of notable places, people, and events in Oregon history."
Columbia River Basin Ethnic History Archives
An online database of primary sources related to the histories of various ethnic groups along the Columbia River Basin. Tip: I encourage you to click "Browse/Search" at the top menu and select an ethnic group. Next, below the image at the center of the page, click "Historical Overview" to start browsing materials.

Digital collections focused on the histories of people often left out of the history textbooks!

Black Past
List of "major digitized archival holdings in African American history. The archives are grouped by state."
Digital Transgender Archive
"The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world."
Digital Resources from the Lesbian Herstory Archive
Digitized collections from the Lesbian Herstory Archive.
Zinn Education Project
Website with teaching materials focused on underrepresented histories

Radical Newspapers Collection
Digital archive of newspaper "issues from The Agitator and The Discontent: Mother of Progress, two newspapers that were produced by members of the Home Colony, an anarchist commune established in Lake Bay, Washington in the late 1890s."
Chronicling America
Digitized newspapers from 1756 - 1963.

Don't see something that inspires you? Looking for something in particular? Email a Clark Librarian - we are excited to help you!

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

she/her

(360) 992-2558

You can request more books by Paisley Rekdal through our library catalog.

Wikimedia Commons
A collection of over 64 million freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute
National Gallery of Art Images
Images of art in the National Gallery that they believe are in the public domain.
The Met's Open Access Collections
Over 400,000 images of artworks from the Met, licensed CC0/public domain.