OER for World Languages: World Languages Starting Points

OER Canvas course shared by Tacoma Community College instructor Amy Carrillo, 2019. Includes modules, assignments, quizzes, and discussions. Public domain.

OER Canvas course shared by Tacoma Community College instructor Amy Carrillo, 2019. Includes modules, assignments, quizzes, and discussions. Public domain.

Online course developed by Tacoma Community College instructor, Amy Carrillo, 2016. Includes assignments and discussion forums. All rights reserved copyright; contact instructor or eLearning.

OER text/course on the LibreTexts platform, last updated 2020, "first half of a comprehensive introductory Spanish sequence, providing guidance and practice in reading, writing, listening to, and speaking Spanish. Each module includes thematic vocabulary, sequenced grammar instruction, numerous self-check drills and exercises, open-form communicative activities, scaffolded writing assignments, and reading passages exploring various aspects of life and culture in the Spanish-speaking world." Organized into 9 modules. Includes a "Faculty Resources" module with PowerPoints, in-class activities, assignments, question banks, and more. Online, PDF, print book files, LMS cartridge, and zip file formats (click the blue "Download" button in the top right). CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.

OER text/course on the LibreTexts platform, last updated 2020, "the second half of a comprehensive introductory Spanish sequence, providing guidance and practice in reading, writing, listening to, and speaking Spanish. Each module includes thematic vocabulary, sequenced grammar instruction, numerous self-check drills and exercises, open-form communicative activities, scaffolded writing assignments, and reading passages exploring various aspects of life and culture in the Spanish-speaking world." Organized into 19 modules. Includes a "Faculty Resources" module with PowerPoints, in-class activities, assignments, question banks, and more. Online, PDF, print book files, LMS cartridge, and zip file formats (click the blue "Download" button in the top right). CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.

Textbook and Canvas course for introductory Spanish created by Spokane Community College instructor, 2019. Includes activities created by students (open pedagogy). CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.

Developed by PennState instructor. Organized into 3 sections: Introduction, Elements of a Sentence, and Spanish Verbs. Interactive practice activities are embedded into the text. Online format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license,

"Images of various objects in a culturally authentic setting for language learning." Scroll down to browse images by language. All images have a CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.

OER text/course on the LibreTexts platform, last updated 2020, "a bilingual grammar manual for advanced students. It can be used for general review and reference in courses from second-year Spanish (B2) up." Organized into 18 modules. Online, PDF, print book files, LMS cartridge, and zip file formats (click the blue "Download" button in the top right). CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.

Developed by COERLL, University of Texas at Austin. "[A] compilation of brief video clips in which native speakers of Spanish from various locations throughout Latin America and Spain demonstrate various language tasks." Site organized first by language level, then by theme/topic. Online and video download formats. Inclues related vocabulary, phrases, and grammar for each section. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

University of Texas at Austin. "[V]ideo recordings of Spanish learners of different levels answering several questions, a written transcript of what they say, and exercises that will guide you interactively to notice features about their talk, as well as answers to those exercises. The purpose of the site is to: Learn to evaluate Spanish proficiency levels; Access a Spanish corpus of beginner to advanced learners of Spanish." CC BY-NC-ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) license.

"[D]etailed grammar explanations of the Spanish language. Unlike traditional reference grammars, each topic is explained using authentic video examples from the Spanish in Texas project. Accompanying practice quizzes are available on an open Canvas course site." Online format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.

Authentic Spanish videos for language learning, developed as part of the Spanish in Texas project. Search and use over 500 short video clips from interviews of native and heritage speakers of Spanish living in Texas. Each video has closed captions and annotated transcripts. Online and downloadable formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.

This telenovela, or Spanish soap opera, from Annenberg Learner immerses students in everyday situations and teaches speaking, listening, and comprehension skills in Spanish. Episodes incorporate Spanish from different Spanish-speaking countries. Each episode is closed-captioned and includes related practice vocabulary. Not openly licensed but freely available online.

An immersive video mystery set in Spain to help learn simple Spanish. Created by the BBC. Includes PDF transcripts for each episode plus a syllabus, printouts, and a teacher guide. Note: This website no longer being updated. Not openly licensed but freely available online.

SBCTC's Open Course Library, last updated in 2013. Course uses low-cost textbook, but course materials are openly licensed with a CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Google Drive folders organized into "Course Modules" (5 course units) and "Course Resources" (syllabus, learning activities).

SBCTC's Open Course Library, last updated in 2013. Course uses low-cost textbook, but course materials are openly licensed with a CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Google Drive folders organized into "Course Modules" (6 total plus assessments) and "Course Resources" (syllabus, instructional materials).

SBCTC's Open Course Library, last updated in 2013. Course uses low-cost textbook, but course materials are openly licensed with a CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Google Drive folders organized into "Course Modules" (assessments and learning activities) and "Course Resources" (syllabus, instructional materials).

Online repository for Spanish language instructional OER. All resources posted on this site carry CC licenses.

Digital Spanish library for grades 3-10, with texts and lesson plans. Some texts are in the public domain and freely viewable, while others require educators to create a free log-in account to view and use.