Research Guides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Find OER

Search Tools

Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)
Real-time federated search for OER content across 21 resources
OASIS Search Tool
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 117 different sources and contains 388,707 records.
Creative Commons Search Tool
Browse over 500 million images, available for reuse

Open (Text)books

Open Textbook Hub (via OER Commons)
Free, adaptable, openly licensed textbooks and supplemental resources.
LibreTexts
Open access texts related to chemistry, biology, geosciences, math, physics, social sciences, engineering, medicine, agriculture, and humanities.
Open Textbook Library
Part of the Open Textbook Network
OpenStax
Free, peer-reviewed college textbooks
Project Gutenberg
Mostly public domain books
BCcampus OpenEd
Repository of over 300 open textbooks. Note that some books are tagged as accessible, reviewed, adopted, and include supplementary materials.
Milne Open Textbooks
Formerly Open SUNY Textbooks (OST), Milne Open Textbooks is the open textbook publishing program from which SUNY OER Services evolved. OST offers peer-reviewed open texts that can be immediately adopted and easily customized via the SUNY OER Services editing platform.
MIT OpenCourseWare Online Books
Index to the online textbooks in MIT OpenCourseWare. Each link on the page goes to a course or resource page that contains the textbook files
Approved Textbooks from the American Institute of Mathematics
Open books that have been judged to meet the evaluation criteria set by the AIM editorial board.
Open Books from Project Muse
"Project MUSE offers open access (OA) books, journals, and digital humanities works from several distinguished university presses, scholarly societies, and independent not-for-profit academic publishers. Through our open access hosting programs, we are able to offer publishers a platform for their OA content which ensures visibility, discoverability, and wide dissemination. These materials are freely available to libraries and users around the world."
2012 Book Archive
"Archive of a small project by Andy Schmitz to archive Creative Commons-licensed copies of ... books which were available online from a specific publisher at the end of 2012."
Directory of Open Access Books
"The Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) is a discovery service for open access books. DOAB provides a searchable index to peer-reviewed monographs and edited collections published under an open access licence, with links to the full texts of the publications at the publisher’s website or repository."
Pressbooks Directory
Index of over 2,000 books published across 94 Pressbooks networks.

Ancillaries, Activities, etc.

Wisc-Online
Repository of free, high-quality educational learning materials, "developed primarily by subject matter experts from the Wisconsin Technical College System (WTCS) and produced by a team of instructional designers, technical editors, and multimedia developers from Fox Valley Technical College's Learning Innovations team.
PhET Interactive Simulations
"Founded in 2002 by Nobel Laureate Carl Wieman, the PhET Interactive Simulations project at the University of Colorado Boulder creates free interactive math and science simulations. PhET sims are based on extensive education research and engage students through an intuitive, game-like environment where students learn through exploration and discovery."

Open & Zero-Cost Videos and Multimedia

This list includes videos and multimedia available through the library, as well as materials available on the open web. Please note that while some repositories listed below contain public domain or Creative Commons-licensed videos, many include videos that are free to watch online, but not published with an open license.

AVON (Academic Videos Online) This link opens in a new window
Collection of streaming videos -- with a blend of educational and feature films -- available through Clark College Libraries.
Streaming videos collection, a blend of educational and feature films. Includes over 71,000 titles.
These titles are also searchable via the Library Online Catalog (http://library.clark.edu/catalog).
2-year license through our Orbis Cascade Alliance consortium (9/1/2020 - 9/1/2022)

URL: https://clarkcollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://video.alexanderstreet.com/channel/academic-video-online

Kanopy via Clark College Libraries
Log in with your Clark College username and password.
National Screening Room from the Library of Congress
"The National Screening Room showcases the riches of the Library's vast moving image collection, designed to make otherwise unavailable movies, both copyrighted and in the public domain, accessible to the viewers worldwide. The majority of titles in the National Screening Room are freely available as both 5 mb MP4 and ProRes 422 MOV/Quicktime downloads."
Khan Academy
NOT openly licensed, but available to access or link online for free. “Our library of videos covers K-12 math, science topics such as biology, chemistry, and physics, and even reaches into the humanities with playlists on finance and history. Each video is a digestible chunk, approximately 10 minutes long, and especially purposed for viewing on the computer.”
CosmoLearning
"Collecting the top educational videos on the web, generously offered by hundreds of universities, educators, and professionals, we share their passion for teaching by providing a platform for world-class education free of charge. CosmoLearning project offers a platform dedicated to all these individuals to post their materials for free. Always crediting the original educators and institutions, we encourage users to show their gratitude and donate directly to the original creators."
Critical Commons
"Critical Commons is a public media archive and fair use advocacy network that supports the transformative reuse of media in scholarly and creative contexts."
World Lecture Project
International archive for academic videos
Medline Plus Health Videos
"These animated videos show the anatomy of body parts and organ systems and how diseases and conditions affect them."
TED Talks
Note that TED talks are not openly licensed, but free to watch and link to.
Streaming Videos & DVDs from Clark College Libraries
A list of streaming videos available through the library.

OER Hubs

Sites with an array of OER, not limited by material type.

OER Commons
A public digital library of open educational resources. Includes "Open Author" for creating your own OER.
Merlot II
Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching (MERLOT) is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
Open Culture
In addition to textbooks includes online courses, MOOCs, movies, audio books, eBooks, and language lessons
Writing Commons
This open-educational resource for students and faculty is full of research and writing information and help.
more...less...
This open-educational resource for students and faculty is full of research and writing information and help. Browse through instructional articles designed for students of research, public speaking, or writing courses of all kinds.

Find OER in the Clark College Library Catalog

Use the Advanced Search
In the first search box, type "open textbook library" (include the quotation marks)
If you want, include a subject in the second box (economics, sociology, etc.)
Hit search (note that OER may show up as eBooks, Journals, Websites, or other resource types)

Photos & Images

Wikimedia Commons
A collection of over 64 million freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute
Google Advanced Image Search
Select the "Creative Commons licenses" filter under "usage rights" to search for openly licensed images on the open web.
The Gender Spectrum Collection
From Broadly (Vice), From Broadly, “the Gender Spectrum Collection is a stock photo library featuring images of trans and non-binary models that go beyond the clichés."
Disabled and Here
" This collection is a disability-led effort to provide free and inclusive stock photos shot from our own perspective, featuring disabled Black, Indigenous, people of color (BIPOC) across the Pacific Northwest. "
nappy
"Beautiful, high-res photos of black and brown people. For free." All photos are licensed under CC0.
AllGo: Free Plus-Size Stock Photos
Free stock photos of plus-size models in office, swimming pool, and home settings.
Flickr Commons
"The key goal of The Commons is to share hidden treasures from the world's public photography archives."
The Met's Open Access Collections
Over 400,000 images of artworks from the Met, licensed CC0/public domain.
Unsplash
High-quality, stylish stock photos. “All photos published on Unsplash can be used for free. You can use them for commercial and noncommercial purposes. You do not need to ask permission from or provide credit to the photographer or Unsplash, although it is appreciated when possible.”
Noun Project
Comprehensive icon collection. From Wikipedia, “The Noun Project is a website that aggregates and catalogs symbols that are created and uploaded by graphic designers around the world. Based in Los Angeles, the project functions both as a resource for people in search of typographic symbols and a design history of the genre.”
Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA)
Enter keywords in the “Search the Collection” box. On the results page, put a checkmark in the box for “Show only results with unrestricted images” to see images that are freely available to use (under public domain).
National Gallery of Art Images
Images of art in the National Gallery that they believe are in the public domain.
National Park Service Digital Images Archive
Public domain photos from the National Park Service.
Pixabay
"Copyright free images, videos and music. All contents are released under the Pixabay License, which makes them safe to use without asking for permission or giving credit to the artist - even for commercial purposes."
Black Illustrations - The Office Hustle
"Images include folks enjoying a coffee, in an office environment discussing start up activities, video chat, conversations and more. It also includes the medical pack with images including doctors, patients and so much more. We include black people of all shades, body types and hairstyles to find the perfect fit. This pack is, and will always be, completely free."
Human Development Institute (Univ. of Kentucky) stock photo library
All images are in the public domain (CC0). "The vision of the UK Human Development Institute is the full participation and contribution of all people with disabilities in all aspects of society. These photos can be downloaded and used to create and enhance visual and digital products, social media posts, and project websites."

Music & Audio

ccMixter
“ccMixter is a community music site featuring remixes licensed under Creative Commons where you can listen to, sample, mash-up, or interact with music in whatever way you want.”
BBC Sound Effects Library
“16,000 BBC Sound Effects made available by the BBC in WAV format to download for use under the terms of the RemArc Licence. The Sound Effects are BBC copyright, but they may be used for personal, educational or research purposes, as detailed in the license.”
Free Music Archive
Free music and royalty-free music, much of which is licensed under Creative Commons. For more information, see FMA's License Guide.
Audio Archive from the Internet Archive
This library contains recordings ranging from alternative news programming, to Grateful Dead concerts, to Old Time Radio shows, to book and poetry readings, to original music uploaded by our users. Many of these audios and MP3s are available for free download. Check [IA's] FAQ for more information.
DanoSongs Royalty Free Music
From Dan-O, "royalty free music [for] your videos, films, apps, games, presentations, podcasts and other media." Published under Creative Commons (Attribution Waived with Donation) 4.0 International Public License.
Free Sound
“Freesound aims to create a huge collaborative database of audio snippets, samples, recordings, bleeps, … released under Creative Commons licenses that allow their reuse.”
Open Music Library
Brings together peer-reviewed journal articles, books, music scores, and videos from the world’s digital collections

Open Courses

MIT OpenCourseWare
Open source access to materials from 2,260 courses.
more...less...
Open source access to materials from 2,260 courses. "MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity." (from MIT OCW About)
Saylor Academy
Free courses, books, and curriculum
Lumen Learning
Courses from art to transitional studies
Open Yale Courses
"Open Yale Courses provides free and open access to a selection of introductory courses taught by distinguished teachers and scholars at Yale University. The aim of the project is to expand access to educational materials for all who wish to learn."
Open Course Library
"[A] collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts."