Thousands of medieval manuscripts are being digitized in part or in full, for internet display, conservation, and cataloging. Twenty-first-century digital archives allow museums to create, produce, present, and disseminate an array of multimedia content to support the viewing and understanding of the collections and exhibitions, both within their galleries and online.
The most common conservation issue related to the care and preservation of medieval manuscripts is the loss of cohesion in the flaking paint due to the dehydration of the binding or ink corrosion due to humidity.
An ultrasonic consolidation unit and a binocular microscope with a bound manuscript strapped to its 90-degree cradle
Conservation ensures the preservation of the collections by undertaking condition surveys and (re)housing projects, performing condition assessments, basic stabilization of temperature, and full treatments while collaborating in the management of the storage, exhibitions, loans, and digitization (Library of Congress).
Museums expand access to rare and unique research material by developing, supporting, and promoting a distinctive digital collection.
Digitalization is a crucial aspect of collections care for museums. For example, the Smithsonian Institution Archives adheres to international standards and best practices for digitization by the Federal Digitization Guidelines Initiative. A museum's objective is to produce high-quality archival images, audio, and video useful for researchers, scholars, and the public. Digitization protects original historical documents and analog records from further deterioration and damage because it eliminates exposure and repetitive handling. Digitization allows further study by scholars, researchers, historians, and students.
Digital Standards for Still Images includes resolutions, digital file format, and file compression, typically none.
Metadata Standards for archives addresses collecting and maintaining cataloging data. Selected embedded elements are the document, title, copyright notice, source, and creator is contained in the digitalized content using the best practice guidelines developed by the museum.
Hillesund, T. (2005). Digital text cycles: From medieval manuscripts to modern markup. Journal of Digital Information, 6(1). Retrieved from https://journals.tdl.org/jodi/index.php/jodi/article/view
62/65
Müller, K. (2002). Museums and virtuality. Curator, 45(1), 21-33.
Seales, B. Griffioen, J. and Kiernan, K.S. (2002). The digital athenaeum: New techniques for restoring and preserving old documents. Computers in Libraries, 20(2), 26.
Ziedan, Y. (2005). The preservation, study and presentation of manuscripts at the Bibliotheca Alexandrina. Museum International, 57(1/2), 100.
Digital Heritage and Culture by 
Museums in the Digital Age by 
The Digital Museum by 
Conservation Concerns by https://twitter.com/SIxDIGI/status/718108283018543108/photo/1?ref_src=twsrc^tfw
http://www.metmuseum.org/exhibitions/listings/2014/winchester-bible/blog/posts/conservation-concerns