Discover Library Resources - CAP 074 - College & Academic Prep (Miles)

Learning Outcomes

After the library session, students should be able to:

Locate articles in magazines, journals and newspapers using Academic Search Premier and ProQuest

Identify basic features of databases

Locate articles in subject encyclopedias using Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

Identify three reasons to use articles in subject encyclopedias

Describe the difference between information found using a search engine, like Google, and information found in a library database

Connect from Off Campus

Connect from off-campus:

Log-in Help

Class Activity

During the in-class activity students gained experience using four library databases:

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
This is the one we looked at with articles from subject encyclopedias. A good place to start.
Encyclopedia articles from subject-specific encyclopedias and reference books. Includes more than 340 academic, subject-specific encyclopedias and reference books. Academic encyclopedia titles included in this collection are hand-selected by librarians to specifically meet the needs of Clark College students.

"Using Gale Virtual Reference Library - The Basics" URL: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rGti7QzowLk

"Using Gale's GVRL - Searching" URL: https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=50&v=_8-pe6tV0XA

"Using Gale's GVRL - Reading eBooks" URL: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J2YrvM9or0k

URL: https://clarkcollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://go.galegroup.com/ps/dispBasicSearch.do?userGroupName=clark_integrated&prodId=GVRL.reference
AccessScience: Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Online This link opens in a new window
This is a subject encyclopedia dedicated to science topics. Each group will be able to locate articles for their assigned disease.
Articles from McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, Science News and more. 100% full-text. Includes fully illustrated articles from the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, and the latest headlines from Science News®. Authors are the top experts in their fields, including a number of Nobel Prize and Fields Medals winners.

URL: https://clarkcollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.accessscience.com
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers for all academic disciplines.
Articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers for all academic disciplines. This collection includes the following full-text content, in addition to thousands of searchable cited resources:
3,618 active, full-text, non-open access journals and magazines
3,099 active, full-text, peer-reviewed, non-open access journals
1,298 active, full-text, peer-reviewed, non-open access journals with no embargo
2,444 active, full-text, non-open access journals indexed in Web of Science or Scopus

This database is hosted on EBSCO platform and includes Academic Search Premier.

URL: https://clarkcollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and newspapers.
Articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and newspapers. By default this ProQuest link searches Research Library, Family Health Database, National Newspapers, and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry; full text and graphics available.

Explore ProQuest's Youtube Channel for a series of training videos.

URL: https://clarkcollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/advanced