Home - CMST 230 - Small Group Communication (Bratton)

Outcomes

By the end of today's class, students will be able to locate the following types of sources for their annotated bibliography:

An article from Gale Virtual Reference Library
A quality website
A newspaper or magazine article or a chapter from a book.

Group Topics

Students are working in groups on the following topics:

Homelessness and Poverty
Hunger
Blood Supply Shortages
Beach Pollution and Litter

Databases A to Z List

Use Databases to Find Articles

See all the library's databases in a single list.
Limit by subject or type

Databases A-Z List

Popular Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers for all academic disciplines.
Articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers for all academic disciplines. This collection includes the following full-text content, in addition to thousands of searchable cited resources:
3,618 active, full-text, non-open access journals and magazines
3,099 active, full-text, peer-reviewed, non-open access journals
1,298 active, full-text, peer-reviewed, non-open access journals with no embargo
2,444 active, full-text, non-open access journals indexed in Web of Science or Scopus

This database is hosted on EBSCO platform and includes Academic Search Premier.

URL: https://clarkcollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://research-ebsco-com.clarkcollege.idm.oclc.org/c/vqwdh7/search/advanced/filters?db=a9h
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Weekly articles focusing in-depth on a single "hot topic" issue.
Weekly articles focusing in-depth on a single "hot topic" issue. Topics are taken from the headlines and include social, political, environmental, health, education, science and technology issues.

URL: https://cqpress-sagepub-com.clarkcollege.idm.oclc.org/cqresearcher/
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window Searches Gale OneFile, Gale In Context, and Gale eBooks databases for all academic disciplines.
Search all 42 Gale databases or select specific resources to search in.

URL: https://clarkcollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://go.gale.com/ps/i.do?p=GPS&sw=w&u=clark_integrated&v=2.1&pg=BasicSearch&it=static&sid=bookmark-GPS
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window Encyclopedia articles from hundreds of subject-specific encyclopedias and reference books, hand-picked by Clark Librarians.
Encyclopedia articles from subject-specific encyclopedias and reference books. Includes more than 340 academic, subject-specific encyclopedias and reference books. Academic encyclopedia titles included in this collection are hand-selected by librarians to specifically meet the needs of Clark College students.

"Using Gale Virtual Reference Library - The Basics" URL: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rGti7QzowLk

"Using Gale's GVRL - Searching" URL: https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=50&v=_8-pe6tV0XA

"Using Gale's GVRL - Reading eBooks" URL: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J2YrvM9or0k

URL: https://clarkcollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://go.galegroup.com/ps/dispBasicSearch.do?userGroupName=clark_integrated&prodId=GVRL.reference
ProQuest This link opens in a new window Articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and newspapers.
Articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and newspapers. By default this ProQuest link searches Research Library, Family Health Database, National Newspapers, and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry; full text and graphics available.

Explore ProQuest's Youtube Channel for a series of training videos.

URL: https://clarkcollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/advanced