Research Guides: Health & Wellness Library: Home

Ask a Librarian

Find and Request Items in the Library Catalog

Searching in the Clark Libraries Catalog can help you find books at our library and borrow books from nearby libraries. This video will show you how:

Handout

Library Website/Catalog

Search Tips:

Put phrases in "quotation marks"
Use subject terms in the databases
Limit your web results with site:.gov, site:.edu

Library Databases:

Health Source Consumer This link opens in a new window Magazine and journal articles on consumer health topics.
Magazine and journal articles on consumer health topics, including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Features searchable full text for nearly 300 journals. This database is updated on a daily basis.

URL: https://clarkcollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=hxh
Consumer Health Database This link opens in a new window Consumer health articles in magazines and journals.
Consumer health articles in magazines and journals. Covers a large range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. Formerly Family Health Database.

URL: https://clarkcollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/familyhealth/advanced?accountid=1157
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window Encyclopedia articles from hundreds of subject-specific encyclopedias and reference books, hand-picked by Clark Librarians.
Encyclopedia articles from subject-specific encyclopedias and reference books. Includes more than 340 academic, subject-specific encyclopedias and reference books. Academic encyclopedia titles included in this collection are hand-selected by librarians to specifically meet the needs of Clark College students.

"Using Gale Virtual Reference Library - The Basics" URL: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rGti7QzowLk

"Using Gale's GVRL - Searching" URL: https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=50&v=_8-pe6tV0XA

"Using Gale's GVRL - Reading eBooks" URL: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J2YrvM9or0k

URL: https://clarkcollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://go.galegroup.com/ps/dispBasicSearch.do?userGroupName=clark_integrated&prodId=GVRL.reference

Evaluating Information:

Who is the author? What are their qualifications?
Can you verify this information elsewhere (are there sources)?
What is the purpose (education, persuasion, sales, etc.)?
Is the information up to date?

Reference & Instruction Librarian

Laura Nagel

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Office: LIB 106

360-992-2826