Research Guides: IBest ENGL & CMST: Home

Librarian

Zachary Grant

he/him

Email Me

Contact:

Office: LIB 109

360-992-2971

Outcomes for Library Session

At the end of today's session, students will be able to:

develop a list of keywords for a topic
create a search strategy to use in library databases
locate articles in subject encyclopedias using Gale Virtual Reference Library
Identify a strategy for getting help from a librarian

Class Activities

During today's class students will brainstorm keywords and phrases related to the class reading. We will use those keywords to practice using one of the library databases:

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Encyclopedia articles from subject-specific encyclopedias and reference books. Includes more than 340 academic, subject-specific encyclopedias and reference books. Academic encyclopedia titles included in this collection are hand-selected by librarians to specifically meet the needs of Clark College students.

"Using Gale Virtual Reference Library - The Basics" URL: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rGti7QzowLk

"Using Gale's GVRL - Searching" URL: https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=50&v=_8-pe6tV0XA

"Using Gale's GVRL - Reading eBooks" URL: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J2YrvM9or0k

URL: https://clarkcollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://go.galegroup.com/ps/dispBasicSearch.do?userGroupName=clark_integrated&prodId=GVRL.reference

Ask a Librarian

Call or Zoom Appointment

24/7 Chat

Visit

Connect from Off Campus

Connect from off-campus:

Log-in Help