Find Academic Sources - SOC 201 - Social Problems: The Pursuit towards Social Justice (Ludwig)

Books

Search the Library Catalog for Books, eBooks, Videos, and More

eBooks

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window E-book collection (86,000+ full-text academic titles)
E-book collection of more than 86,000 full-text academic titles in Anthropology, Business & Economics, Computers & IT, Education, Engineering & Technology, Fine Arts, History, Language & Literature, Law, Life Sciences, Medicine, Physical Sciences, Psychology, Religion and Social Sciences. Formerly ebrary Academic Complete E-book Collection.

URL: https://clarkcollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/clark/
EBSCOhost e-books This link opens in a new window College-level e-books covering wide range of academic disciplines.
College-level e-books covering wide range of academic disciplines. 256,000 titles full-text, viewable through the EBSCOhost interface. Set up an optional user account to take advantage of all the features.

URL: https://clarkcollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=nlebk

Articles in Subject Encyclopedias

Subject Encyclopedias

The follow are great places to start for locating articles in subject-specific (academic) encyclopedias.

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia articles from hundreds of subject-specific encyclopedias and reference books, hand-picked by Clark Librarians.
Encyclopedia articles from subject-specific encyclopedias and reference books. Includes more than 340 academic, subject-specific encyclopedias and reference books. Academic encyclopedia titles included in this collection are hand-selected by librarians to specifically meet the needs of Clark College students.

"Using Gale Virtual Reference Library - The Basics" URL: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rGti7QzowLk

"Using Gale's GVRL - Searching" URL: https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=50&v=_8-pe6tV0XA

"Using Gale's GVRL - Reading eBooks" URL: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J2YrvM9or0k

URL: https://clarkcollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://go.galegroup.com/ps/dispBasicSearch.do?userGroupName=clark_integrated&prodId=GVRL.reference
AccessScience: Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Online This link opens in a new window
Articles from McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, Science News and more.
Articles from McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, Science News and more. 100% full-text. Includes fully illustrated articles from the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, and the latest headlines from Science News®. Authors are the top experts in their fields, including a number of Nobel Prize and Fields Medals winners.

URL: https://clarkcollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.accessscience.com

Articles in Journals, Magazines & Newspapers

Recommended Databases

SocINDEX This link opens in a new window SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals in sociology and related areas of study.
SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals. It offers comprehensive coverage of sociology and closely related areas of study, including abortion, criminology & criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, social psychology, social work, substance abuse & other addictions, and violence.

URL: https://clarkcollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?profile=ehost&defaultdb=sih&authtype=ip
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers for all academic disciplines.
Articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers for all academic disciplines. This collection includes the following full-text content, in addition to thousands of searchable cited resources:
3,618 active, full-text, non-open access journals and magazines
3,099 active, full-text, peer-reviewed, non-open access journals
1,298 active, full-text, peer-reviewed, non-open access journals with no embargo
2,444 active, full-text, non-open access journals indexed in Web of Science or Scopus

This database is hosted on EBSCO platform and includes Academic Search Premier.

URL: https://clarkcollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h
ProQuest This link opens in a new window Articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and newspapers.
Articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and newspapers. By default this ProQuest link searches Research Library, Family Health Database, National Newspapers, and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry; full text and graphics available.

Explore ProQuest's Youtube Channel for a series of training videos.

URL: https://clarkcollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/advanced

To see all of our databases, go to library.clark.edu, RESEARCH, then ARTICLES & DATABASES. You can see which databases we recommend for Sociology by using the All Subjects drop-down menu at the top.

Characteristics of Peer-Reviewed Articles

Articles in scholarly journals may also be called research journals, peer reviewed journals, or refereed journals. These types of articles share many common features, including:

articles always provide the name of the author or multiple authors
author(s) always have academic credentials (e.g. biologist, chemist, anthropologist, lawyer)
articles often have a sober, serious look
articles may contain many graphs and charts; few glossy pages or color pictures
author(s) write in the language of the discipline (e.g. biology, chemistry, anthropology, law, etc.)
authors write for other scholars, and emerging scholars
authors always cite their sources in footnotes, bibliographies, notes, etc.
often (but not always) associated with universities or professional organizations.

SOC 201 - Social Problems: The Pursuit towards Social Justice (Ludwig): Find Academic Sources

Search the Library Catalog for Books, eBooks, Videos, and More

eBooks

Subject Encyclopedias

Recommended Databases

Characteristics of Peer-Reviewed Articles