Mental Health and Wellness: Students

Argues that happiness can be a learned and cultivated behavior, explaining how every person possesses at least five of twenty-four profiled strengths that can be built on in order to improve life.

"This book offers a unique, interdisciplinary, and thoughtful look at the challenges and potency of Black women's struggle for inner peace and mental stability. It brings together contributors from psychology, sociology, law, and medicine, as well as the humanities, to discuss issues ranging from stress, sexual assault, healing, self-care, and contemplative practice to health-policy considerations and parenting. Merging theory and practice with personal narratives and public policy, the book develops a new framework for approaching Black women's wellness in order to provide tangible solutions. The collection reflects feminist praxis and defines womanist peace in terms that reject both "superwoman" stereotypes and "victim" caricatures. Also included for health professionals are concrete recommendations for understanding and treating Black women"--Publisher's description.

"What is depression? What is bipolar disorder? How are they diagnosed and how are they treated? Can a small child be diagnosed with depression and treated with antidepressants - and should they be? Covering depression, manic depression, and bipolar disorder, this Very Short Introduction gives a brief account of the history of these concepts, before focussing on the descriptions and understanding of these disorders today. Jan Scott and Mary Jane Tacchi look at the introduction of modern treatments for people suffering from depression, recounting the stories behind the development and introduction of antidepressants and mood stabilizers. They examine the symptoms and signs of the different disorders, as well as the association between physical disorders and depression. Exploring the importance of depression and bipolar disorder in society, they also look at the link between creativity and mood disorders. Scott and Tacchi conclude by discussing treatments and the future for those with depression."--Provided by Publisher

"This title in the At Issue series explores the new phenomena of anxiety surrounding the Internet that has developed with the explosion of social media use. Mobile-devise separation anxiety, digital overload, and activity tracking are a selection of topics discussed"--Publisher's website.

"Recent research has shown a dramatic increase in the number of women and girls suffering with mental health problems. The Female Mind is an up-to-date overview of how gender and sexuality affect mental health and will help women to self-identify and self-manage the symptoms of mental ill health. It gives information on the modern woman's place in the ever-changing social landscape, examining the influences of cultural and historical factors as well as discussing the physical science of the female brain and how it functions differently. It covers a wide range of specific mental health disorders - many of which are more common in women - and includes real-life case studies, the latest treatments and where to find further help and support. In today's digital age people can access a broad range of information without necessarily knowing how reliable, accurate and up-to-date it is, or how relevant it is to them as an individual. All forty chapters in The Female Mind are written by experts in the field who draw on the latest high-quality evidence and present it in an easy-to-read format that provides an invaluable guide to women. It will help you to have better, more informed and confident communication with your doctors and healthcare practitioners." --Publisher description.

Instead of asking why certain people suffer from mental illness, Nesse asks why natural selection has left us all with fragile minds. Drawing on revealing stories from his own clinical practice and insights from evolutionary biology, Nesse shows how negative emotions are useful in certain situations, yet can become overwhelming. Anxiety protects us from harm in the face of danger, but false alarms are inevitable. Low moods prevent us from wasting effort in pursuit of unreachable goals, but they often escalate into pathological depression. Other mental disorders, such as addiction and anorexia, result from the mismatch between modern environment and our ancient human past. And there are good evolutionary reasons for sexual disorders and for why genes for schizophrenia persist. Taken together, these and many more insights help to explain the pervasiveness of human suffering, and show us new paths for relieving it by understanding individuals as individuals.

Provides up-to-date information on basic health conditions for men. Includes guidelines for maintaining wellness with facts about recommended screenings, checkups, and vaccinations.

This book is the definitive reference on mental health and disasters, focused on the full spectrum of psychopathologies associated with many different types of disasters.

"Provides basic consumer health information about the signs, symptoms, and treatment of various mental illnesses, and the special mental health concerns of children and adolescents, older adults, and other groups, along with tips for maintaining mental wellness. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources"--Provided by publisher.

A wry, sympathetic, brazenly honest account of living with anxiety, coupled with deep reportage on the science of anxiety disorders.--Provided by publisher.

"'Public Mental Health' provides a comprehensive introduction and reference for the public health approach to mental and behavioural disorders, and to promotion of mental health."--Provided by Publisher

"Blends memoir with literary journalism to examine America's history of mental illness treatments to challenge contemporary narratives about mental health, questioning what it means to be a woman with highly stigmatized disorders and asking why mental illness continues to escalate in the United States despite so many 'cures'"--Provided by publisher.

"Trauma and addiction are two of the most common and difficult issues that people face --- but it truly is possible to heal. In this motivating book, leading expert Lisa Najavits explains the link between trauma and addiction and presents science-based self-help strategies that you can use no matter where you are in your recovery. Every chapter features inspiring words from people who have "been there," plus carefully designed reflection questions, exercises, and other practical tools."--Page 4 of cover.

The Resilient Practitioner, 3rd edition, gives students and practitioners the tools they need to create their own personal balance between caring for themselves and caring for others. This new edition includes a new chapter on resiliency, an updated self-care action plan, self-reflection exercises in each chapter, and a revised resiliency inventory for practitioners. Readers will find, however, that the new edition keeps its strong focus on research and accessible writing style. The new edition also retains its focus on establishing working alliances and charting a hopeful path for practitioners, a path that allows them to work intensely with human suffering and also have a vibrant career in the process. -- Preliminary page.

Of all the terms used in psychology, schizophrenia is perhaps one of the most misunderstood, conjuring images of potentially dangerous people with split personalities. But behind the contentious and charged media portrayals of schizophrenia lies a disturbing yet fascinating mental illness. Examining the causes, symptoms, diagnosis and treatment of schizophrenia, psychology professor Kevin Silber tackles these misconceptions, helping you see the condition behind the myths. This introductory textbook considers all aspects of schizophrenia, and guides you through the theories and studies that contribute to our understanding of this mental health condition.--From back cover.

"Trans Bodies, Trans Selves (TBTS) is a place for transgender and gender-questioning people, their partners and families, students, educators, counselors, and others to look for up-to-date information on transgender life."--Provided by publisher.

"Unbroken Brain offers a radical and groundbreaking new perspective, arguing that addictions are learning disorders and shows how seeing the condition this way can untangle our current debates over treatment, prevention and policy. Like autistic traits, addictive behaviors fall on a spectrum -- and they can be a normal response to an extreme situation. By illustrating what addiction is, and is not, the book illustrates how timing, history, family, peers, culture and chemicals come together to create both illness and recovery- and why there is no "addictive personality" or single treatment that works for all. Combining Maia's personal story with a distillation of more than 25 years of science and research, Unbroken Brain provides a paradigm-shifting approach to thinking about addiction."--Provided by publisher

A resource for service members, their spouses, families, and communities offers a guide to the most common after-effects of war and includes strategies for reintegration into everyday life, discussion of common myths, and an exploration of mental health concerns.

The number of veterans returning from Iraq and Afghanistan with some kind of traumatic brain injury is increasing daily, and has wide ranging effects including physical disfigurement, social stigma, emotional distress, and post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). In Combat-Related Traumatic Brain Injury and PTSD: A Resource and Recovery Guide, authors Cheryl Lawhorne and Don Philpott offer guidance for the returning veteran, from treatment options, to diagnostic criteria and techniques, to resources for rehabilitation and support.

"Explores the psychological wounds of war, significantly post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and traumatic brain injury (TBI); Outlines warning signs of a veteran in distress; Examines the distinct issues facing women in the military; Provides an in-depth guide to veteran-related networks, organizations, and programs; Offers uplifting, inspirational stories of rescue and redemption ..."--Page 4 of cover.

Both a resource for struggling veterans and a useful tool for their loved ones or anyone looking for ways to support the veterans in their lives.-- From back cover.

With this book, Dr. Hoge reaches out to a larger community of veterans and their families, helping family members to gain greater understanding of ways they can help their loved ones navigate the "PTSD paradox" while also helping veterans cope with combat stress and PTSD through a set of specific skills.

ne of the most painful and tragic legacies of the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan has been the trauma suffered by those who served and the far-reaching consequences and after-effects of their scarring combat experiences. This very important volume looks at the issue of returning soldiers PTSD from multiple angles, examining skyrocketing suicide rates; the debates surrounding the quality and accessibility of health care; the nature of and stigmas associated with a PTSD diagnosis; the responsibility that government and society have to care for returning soldiers; how welcoming, protective, and supportive the environment is to which soldiers return; and the steep cost of war to the individual, families, and society at large. Full-Color Photographs, Bibliography, Detailed Table of Contents, Further Information Section, Index, Primary Sources, Websites.